National Register Nomination Information:
Historically mixing residential, industrial, and commercial uses, the identity of Quechee Village has always been closely linked to the Ottauquechee River that winds through the village. Quechee is one of the five villages in the Town of Hartford. Today the village is located just to the north of the heavily traveled US Route 4, which connects another Hartford village, White River Junction, and Interstate 91 to the town of Woodstock to the west.
The spine of the district is Quechee Main Street, which extends in an east-west direction, parallel and to the north of the Ottauquechee River. The district also includes structures on a number of lesser intersecting streets. On the north side of Main Street these include School Street, High Street, and Old Quechee Road. River Road acts as the western boundary of the district. There are several buildings on Waterman Hill Road, which extends north from Route 4, crossing the river and terminating at Main Street. River Street is located to the west of Waterman Hill Road and south of the river. In total, the district is comprised of 73 properties, including 75 contributing buildings and 28 noncontributing buildings (of which 17 are noncontributing due to age and 11 are noncontributing due to alteration). There are also two contributing sites, two contributing structures and two structures, which are noncontributing due to age. The nominated district possesses a high level of integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling and association.
Most of the buildings in the district are set close to the road on small lots. The course that the river has carved out of the landscape is evident in changes in the topography. The lots on the south side of Main Street and the north side of River Street exhibit steep grades down to the riverbank. The highest elevations within the district include Waterman Hill and the top of School Street. The buildings on High Street are built into the top of the hill overlooking Main Street. Retaining walls, principally of dry fieldstone construction, are notable throughout the district and are a natural extension of the hilled terrain. In some cases the shallow yards are fronted by picket or iron fences. Owing to the narrowness of Main Street, sidewalks are limited to a few discontinuous segments and there are a few parallel-parking spaces. Electrical wires and utility poles crisscross the streets.
The majority of the buildings in the district are residential in nature, primarily 1 ½ and 2 ½ story, single-family residences with lesser numbers of multi-family residences, which historically housed millworkers. Assorted outbuildings, primarily barns, sheds and garages, accompany the residential structures. The former textile mill, which drove the local economy for almost one hundred years, has been reduced in size but still acts as a manufacturing facility and now contains a glass studio, restaurant and shop. Since the 1970s a number of the buildings in the center of the village have been converted to commercial use, including shops, offices, and bed and breakfast inns. Also within the district are buildings, which presently, or in the past, have served institutional uses. Present institutional buildings include the village library, a church, and a post office, while the former library now serves as an office, a former meetinghouse/school is a residence/home business and, another church has been converted to a residence. Significant open spaces within the district include two cemeteries.
Construction dates within the district range from the early 1800s to the 1900s, although the majority date to the mid 19th century. Frame and the clapboard construction is dominant; approximately seven buildings within the district are constructed of brick. Synthetic sidings of asbestos, aluminum and vinyl cover a number of the buildings.
Descriptions of the buildings contained in the district begin at the extreme northwestern end of the north side of Quechee Main Street, near the intersection with River Road. From here they proceed along the north side of Main Street toward the center of the village, including the structures on School and High Street, a single structure on Deweys Mills Road and the two cemeteries before continuing northward along the south side of Main Street to River Road. The descriptions continue along the north and then the south sides of River Street before concluding with the structures on Waterman Hill Road.
1. Burch House, 151 Quechee Main Street, c. 1890. Contributing building.
This simple late 19th century structure, heavily renovated in the 1980s, marks the northwestern edge of the district. The two story clapboarded structure displays plain trim and projecting eaves. It rests on a brick foundation and is capped by a standing seam gable roof. The sidehall entrance contains a modern metal and glass door and is sheltered by a porch added in 1986, which wraps around the southeast corner of the house. Adjacent to the entrance the façade is punctuated by two windows containing 8/1 and 8/8 sash while two 1/1 windows are located in the attic above. A projecting gable on the east side is lit by three modern 6/6 windows with snap-in mullions. The single story addition at the rear was added in 1986 and includes a skylight and exterior stairs.
1a. Barn, c. 1920. Contributing building.
To the east of the main house is a clapboarded gablefront barn resting on a concrete foundation with horizontal board sides. The first floor is punctuated by a four-panel door, a plate glass window and a garage door. The metal roof displays projecting eaves and exposed rafters on the lateral eaves. A vertical board door is located on the upper level.
1b. Shed, c. 1980. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Just to the east of the barn is this small modern outbuilding constructed of vertical boards with a shed roof.
According to deed records this property was sold by George Burch and Scott Tinkham to May Burch in 1898. May Burch continued to live here until 1943 when the property was transferred to Kate Bugbee. The property was owned by Seth and Ida Thomas from 1945 until 1986. It presently consists of two rental units.
2. House, 129 Quechee Main Street, c. 1850. Noncontributing building (due to alteration).
This 2 ½ story clapboarded structure is set broadside to the street with a center entrance marked by a projecting gable porch supported by four Roman Doric columns. The house appears to date to the mid 19th century. It has been altered over the years and presently stands in fair condition. The mixed fenestration includes 2/2 on the second floor and 1/1 windows on the first floor. The front door opening contains a hollow core door and a modern wood door is located on the gable end. The foundation of the house is not visible. The possibility exists that the structure was raised based on cuts in the clapboards underneath the second story windows. The façade of the attached single story wing projects slightly from the main structure. There is an exterior concrete block chimney and a three part bay window on its broad façade.
2a. Garage, c. 1940. Noncontributing building (due to age and alteration).
To the west of the house is a garage constructed of horizontal boards. Originally a small gablefront structure, the building has been altered by an addition to the east, which also raises the roof. A sliding door and a modern set of double doors access the front.
3. Gay House, 113 Quechee Main Street, c. 1850. Contributing building.
This L-shaped house consists of 1 ½ story, two bay gablefront with a long ell extending to the east. The clapboarded structure rests on a granite foundation and is capped by a standing seam metal roof with an exterior concrete block chimney on the west side. Plain trim, a simple frieze and projecting eaves outline the house. Entrances are located on the east gable end and the front of the ell. The east entrance contains a modern doubledoored entrance with a multilight window in the gable above. Other windows primarily consist of 6/6 sash with lipped lintels. A shed roofed porch with plain posts is located at the junction of the house and ell with a gable wall dormer rising above it.
An historic photograph in the possession of the present owner indicates that the building originally had an additional attached barn and sheds extending to the east which have been removed. The exact date of construction of the structure is not clear. The deed records are somewhat confusing but suggest that this was the John Gay Homestead and was sold by Sarah Gay to F.C. Brown in 1886 and then to Frank Wilson in 1902. The property was sold by Carl Marcy to H.F. Porter Lillie in 1907. Later owners included Sherman Manning and Minnie Osmer.
4. House, 69 Quechee Main Street, c. 1920 & c. 1980. Noncontributing building (due to alteration).
Heavily altered in the 1980s this c. 1920 clapboarded structure presently displays four pairs of casement windows on its broad façade, designed to maximize views of the golf course to the south. The house rests on a concrete foundation and has a saltbox roof profile with an exterior brick chimney on the east end. The entrance to the building is located on the west end, marked by a simple doorhood and fluted surround.
4a. Blacksmith Shop, c. 1850. Contributing building.
Located to the west of the modern house and now serving as a garage, this mid 19th century brick blacksmith shop building is set broadside to the street with a center door opening flanked by two pairs of fixed 2/2 windows. The roof is sheathed in standing seam metal and the side gables are clapboarded with a 12/12 window flanked by blinds and framed by projecting eaves.
4b. Shed, c. 1970. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Sited on the hillside to the west of the brick building is a small shed constructed of barnboard with a gambrel roof. A fieldstone terrace is located behind the buildings.
The brick blacksmith shop would appear to be the shop owned by J. Veyette as shown on the 1869 Beers map of Quechee. Deed records indicate that the property was owned by Frank Webster later in the 19th century and by Warren Hamel, Ralph Maxham and Merle Aldrich in the 20th century. A 1887 newspaper article indicates that in that year Webster's tenement was destroyed by fire and he erected a roof over the lower story for a blacksmith shop. Scott Tinkham purchased this property in 1889 and newspaper articles indicate that in 1899 he rented out his blacksmith shop to F.T. McLaughlin.
5. House, 65 Quechee Main Street, c. 1950. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Constructed about 1950, this single story, clapboarded house rests on a concrete foundation and is capped by a low gable, asphalt-shingled roof. A projecting gable marks the entrance vestibule, lit by jalousie windows with a glass and panel door. A tripart picture window is located on the façade and an additional entrance with deck is located on the east side.
A simple carport with plain posts and an exterior concrete block chimney are located on the west side of the house. A modern vertical board fence with latticed upper panels marks the front property line.
6. Carter House, 59 Quechee Main Street, c. 1850. Contributing building.
Constructed c. 1850, the house at 59 Quechee Main Street is a 1 ½ story brick structure set with its gable end to the street. The standing seam metal roof is punctuated by a central brick chimney and a clapboarded shed dormer spans both roof slopes. The house currently measures 5 x 2 bays; a center entrance on the gable end has been bricked up. Markings on the brick indicate the previous outline of a porch on the same elevation. The center entrance on the east side contains a glass and panel door. Windows on the structure consists of 2/1 sash on the first floor with a modern 2/2 window in the attic. On the west side of the house the entrance features a fluted frame with a modern steel door with stained glass. Two of the openings on this side have been replaced with modern windows, necessitating the bricking-up of the adjacent wall.
Offset to the northeast of the house is a single story clapboarded barn set with its broadside to the street. Façade openings include a central door, 2/2 sash and fixed 4 x 3 window.
A modern wooden fence with a pergola and gate mark the streetline. A steep hillside is located to the rear of the house with a fieldstone wall.
Deed records indicate that the small brick house was known as the Carter Place, perhaps referring to W.S. Carter. The 1869 Beers Map shows a house belonging to J. Dimick roughly on the site of this house although the plan does not seem to correspond with the south facing, gable end structure currently on the site. Newspapers indicate that William Clark purchased the old Dimick place in 1882.
7. Farrington House, 55 Quechee Main Street, c. 1910. Contributing building.
The house at 55 Quechee Main Street is a 2 ½ story clapboarded structure with an L-shaped plan, capped by a clipped gable or jerkinhead roof, sheathed in slate shingles. The house rests on a brick foundation and a single story porch wraps around the "gablefront" and west elevation. It is supported by turned posts with a turned balustrade and round, knobbed newel posts. The sidehall entrance has a glass and panel door with a lipped frame. Adjacent is a large plate glass picture window with a leaded transom decorated by hexagonal panes. A suspended rectangular bay window with honeycomb panes is located on the side elevation. Elsewhere on the building windows consist of doublehung 2/1 sash with lipped lintels and blinds.
Extending from the rear of the west side of the house is a 1 ½ story ell which, like the main house, rests on a brick foundation and is capped by a jerkinhead roof. A glass and panel door and 2/1 window punctuate the façade of the ell.
There is a deed which appears to correspond with this property dated 1907 from Michael Chadwick to Julia Farrington which refers to the property as the William Clark place. (Newspapers indicate that William Clark purchased the old Dimik place in 1882). Several years later in 1911 Julia Farrington sold the property to Samuel Pingree describing the property as that conveyed to Farrington by Chadwick in 1907 "with the new house just erected thereon".
7a. Garage, c. 1940. Contributing building.
Located to the west of the house is a single story garage with a clapboarded front, concrete block walls and a jerkinhead roof sheathed in asphalt shingles. A wide double door accesses the gablefront. Two large pine trees mark the front corners of the garage.
8. Charles Tinkham House, 53 Quechee Main Street, 1859. Contributing building.
The Charles Tinkham House is a 2 ½ story brick structure with a cross gable plan. The house rests on a granite foundation and is capped by an asphalt roof with an exterior, wood-covered chimney at the southwest corner. Single story porches are inset at the southeast and southwest corner, supported by fluted Doric columns with four panel doors accessing the wings. The building's gablefront measures two bays wide with 6/6 windows, taller on the first floor. The windows are capped by three part paneled lintels with raised pyramid blocks on the ends.
Extending behind the house is a single story wing with a gable wall dormer, shed dormer and modern bay window on the east side. Projecting from the west side is an open, covered space. A picket fence runs along the streetline.
This house was constructed in 1859 by local merchant and village postmaster (1867-1887), Charles Tinkham. Among other things, Tinkham was well known for his collection of "minerals, shells, and other curious and interesting matters," which was reported to be the best in the state in 1869 when the Beers Map was completed. The clay bricks used to construct the house came from the Brickyard Farm and are unusual for the black specks they contain.
9. The Parsonage, 47 Quechee Main Street, 1873. Contributing building.
Constructed as the Congregational Church parsonage, this 2 ½ story clapboarded, gablefront structure was built about 1873. The building is capped by a slate roof, punctuated by a brick chimney. Corner pilasters support a two part frieze with cornice returns on the gable ends. The sidehall entrance contains a double leaf entrance with each door containing an arched upper glass pane over a lower panel. Concrete steps front the entrance with a wrought iron railing. The flat, bracketed doorhood is supported by two trusses with raised triangular panels. The first floor is three bays wide with 2/2 windows with lipped lintels and blinds while the second floor features a single 1/1 window in each of the outer bays. A modern sliding door punctuates the attic level, fronted by a projecting porch supported by modern braces. Elsewhere on the building fenestration includes a mixture of 1/1 replacement windows and 2/2 sash. A three sided by window is located at the rear of the east elevation.
A two story wing extends behind the main house with a single story porch on the east side. Modern exterior staircases are located at the rear of the building and on the west side. A single story attached barn was removed when the new barn was constructed.
9a. Barn, 1993. Noncontributing building (due to age).
To the rear of the main house is a two story detached barn/garage with an asymmetrical gablefront. Two garage doors punctuate the gablefront in addition to a metal and glass door and a 8/8 window.
Deed records indicate that Mary E. Carter sold the Congregational Church the land for a parsonage in 1878 and a cost of $700. Known as the "Brick Store Lot", the land was the former site of the Barron & Ransom store. According to Congregational Church records, the Second Quechee Village Meeting House Society decided to build a home for the pastor six months after the Church was dedicated in May 1873. In December 1873 a committee was appointed to oversee construction of the building. The property was sold by the Congregational Church in 1953.
10. Quechee Library, 41 Quechee Main Street, 1974/1995. Noncontributing building (due to age).
This single story clapboarded structure located at the northeast corner of Willard Road and Quechee Main Street was originally constructed in 1974 as the Woodstock Bank. After serving as a real estate office, the building was renovated in 1995 to serve the Quechee Library, according to the designs of Paul Trementozzi of OZ Architecture. As originally constructed, the building was rectangular in plan with the longer elevation facing Quechee Main Street. As part of the 1995 renovations a broad gabled projection with a bowed front projects from the façade with an arched multilight window lighting the gable. Other windows include a mixture of doublehung 1/1 and 8/8 sash as well as single pane windows. The bank's former drive-up window has been retained at the rear. A cupola on the roof has been removed. Landscaping in front of the building includes a crab apple tree, a brick walk and a low stone wall with perennial plantings.
11. Fogg-Sperry House (Country Garden Inn Bed and Breakfast), 37 Quechee Main Street, c. 1850. Contributing building.
Set on a low knoll adjacent to a small brook, this two story brick structure is one of two mansard-roofed structures in the district. The structure rests on a brick foundation and the mansard roof retains its slate shingles. Centered on the three bay façade is a single bay, flat-roofed entrance porch supported by chamfered wooden posts which are spanned by turned balusters and a balled square newel post. To each side there is a two story, three sided bay window with 1/1 doublehung sash set above recessed panels. Between the two bay windows is a single rectangular dormer with two similar dormers punctuating both the east and west side elevations. A modern single story greenhouse addition projects from the east side of the building. Extending behind is a single story clapboarded ell with a slate roof. A central gabled wall dormer is located on the east side which is fronted by a porch with four horizontal louvered openings. Angled behind the ell is an attached garage resting on a concrete foundation with a gable roof. A shed dormer spans the east slope while a single garage door provides access below. Windows on the garage contain 1/1 sash.
The house is fronted by a concrete wall with cascading evergreens. A newspaper article in the local newspaper indicates that the wall was constructed in 1923.
Deed research seems to contradict the fact that this house is locally known as the Abel Barron house constructed in 1819. Although Barron purchased the property in 1819 he does not seem to have constructed a house on the property at that time. In 1847 Barron sold the property. "a small piece of land on which is still standing a potash building" bounded on the east by a brook. In 1850 Charles Tinkham sold the same parcel to George Fogg who was probably responsible for the construction of the mansard brick residence. G.W. Fogg is also shown as the owner on the 1869 Beers Map. In 1880 George and Minerva Fogg sold the property to Dr. Charles Sperry, the village physician for $1800. The Sperry family continued to own the property until 1903. The house has served as a bed and breakfast since 1988.
12. Quechee Community Church, 33 Quechee Main Street, 1873. Contributing building.
Designed by Boston architect Thomas W. Silloway, the Quechee Congregational Church was constructed in 1873 on the site of an old brewery. The wood-frame High Victorian Gothic Revival style structure displays a gablefront dominated by a 90 food steeple at the southwest corner. A smaller pinnacle and portico at the southeast corner were removed sometime after 1916.
Resting on a granite foundation and capped by a slate roof, the church is sheathed in horizontal flushboard. Centered on the gablefront is a tall, arched opening consisting of a pair of narrow, arched two-part windows with jigsawn ornament at the base. The windows contain rectangular panes of etched glass with a margin boarder of dark glass. To the east of the window is a pilastered buttress which originally supported a steepled pinnacle.
At the base of the steeple is a segmentally-arched, double doored entrance set above steps flanked by stick balusters and posts. The paneled doors are flanked by pilaster strips formed from vertical boards. Lighting the sides of the belfry are clear leaded glass panes with peaked caps. A diamond recessed panel fills the area at the top between the two windows. Square in plan, the hip roofed first stage of the tower gives rise to octagonal corner pinnacles with a flared metal roof. On the louvered arched section jigsawn supports are capped by a jerkinhead roof. Fishscale shingles sheath the steeple. The west side of the base of the steeple features a leaded glass window consisting of four rectangular panes with margins that are stenciled.
On the east elevation a wooden ramp leads to a set of double doors with arched upper panels and rectangular panels below. Historic photographs indicate that a single story porte cochere formerly sheltered this entrance. Both the east and west elevations are punctuated by three large windows consisting of eight rectangular panes of glass with a darker paned margin. A wide baseboard, cornerboards and frieze articulate the clapboarded exterior. A tall brick chimney on a concrete foundation projects from the west elevation. Adjacent to the steeple on the west side a modern basement entrance has been added on a concrete foundation, accessed by a six panel door. A semicircular pathway flanked by plantings fronts the church. A driveway runs along the west side of the building.
The church was erected by the Second Quechee Village Meeting-house Society which was formed on October 31, 1871. The building committee, consisting of J.C. Parker, D.L Cushing and U.M. Church acquired a piece of land known as the "Russ Place" although it was owned at that time by W.S. Carter and occupied by Hart and Sisco. Formerly the land had housed a brewery. The building committee hired Boston architect T.W. Silloway to design the building. Silloway is perhaps the best known in Vermont for designing the exterior of the Vermont State House in 1857 after the original c. 1830 structure was damaged by fire. The church was dedicated on May 23, 1873. As originally constructed broad, stenciled borders trimmed with gold leaf decorated the interior ceilings. The sanctuary featured a Johnson and Sons organ while a 1,274 pound bell was located in the belfry. A pair of horsesheds were originally located to the north and west of the church structure.
The four sanctuary murals depicting Biblical scenes were created by local artist Kathleen Bruskin between 1974 and 1976, using local residents for her models and Vermont scenery as a backdrop.
13. House, 23 Quechee Main Street, c. 1870. Contributing building.
This 1 ¾ story gablefront structure rests on a concrete foundation, with a clapboard exterior and a roof clad in metal, punctuated by an offcenter brick chimney. The sidehall entrance contains a glass and panel door capped by a lipped lintel and a shallow gable overhang. Simple cornerboards outline the structure, giving rise to a plain frieze under projecting eaves. A pair of 6/2 windows lights the first floor while the upper level is lit by individual windows and lacks an opening over the entrance. Queen Anne sash and irregularly spaced 6/2 windows light the side elevations.
This house was at one time attached to the brick house to the east (#14) and served as both a carriage house and kitchen.
14. William Burtch House, 21 Quechee Main Street. c. 1800. Contributing building.
Set on a low knoll, the Burtch House is a 2 ½ story, Georgian plan, brick house measuring 5x2 bays. The gable roof, sheathed in standing seam metal, is punctuated by two interior brick chimneys. The center entrance contains a six panel door and is capped by transom lights and a flat arch lintel. Windows on the structure contain 6/6 sash, which decrease in size from the first floor to the second floor. All of the windows are flanked by louvered blinds and capped by flat arch lintels. Rows of header bricks set on end act as sills. Cornice returns articulate the side elevations which are punctuated by windows on the outer bays with an additional window opening on the first floor and two window openings in the attic. On the rear elevation a shed dormer connects to a third story deck and exterior wooden staircase.
This structure was built c. 1795 by William Burtch, who ran a brickyard and was the son-in-law of Samuel Udall. In the 20th century this brick dwelling was owned by the mill owners, initially J.C. Parker Co. and later the Harris, Emery Company, who sold it to Emma Adams in 1953. It appears that in the mill deeds this property is referred to as the "Brick Dwelling House", occupied by Luther Cady in 1899, and conveyed to Joseph Parker by Daniel Needham in 1864.
15. Dinsmore House. 19 Quechee Main Street, c 1850. Contributing building.
Located at the northwest corner of School Street, the Dinsmore House is a 1 ½ story clapboarded gablefront, sidehall plan structure capped by a standing seam metal roof. The building rests on a granite and concrete foundation and much of the exterior sheathing has been replaced in recent years. A wide watertable is located above the foundation and recessed panel pilasters of modern construction support a simple frieze. The sidehall entrance contains a two panel door flanked by partial sidelights containing etched glass. Like many of the details on the building, the recessed panel pilasters with cornerblocks are modern replicas. Fenestration on the structure include 1/1 sash, four pane windows and a sliding door on the west side.
Offset to the northwest and set on a concrete foundation, the single story wing features a large pane front window facing the street. The east side of the house is spanned by a shed dormer with an exterior brick chimney. A single story flat roofed connector links the main house and a two car gablefront garage, set on a concrete foundation to the east. Windows on the garage contain 2/2 sash. The garage roof is sheathed in asphalt shingles.
According to local sources, this house is of plank construction. In the 1850s it was occupied by a doctor named Dinsmore, whose office occupied the wing on the west side of the house. The building served as the Congregational Church Parsonage from 1865 until 1882 and is shown as such on the 1869 Beers Map.
16. Quechee Grammar School, School Street, 1920-1921. Contributing building.
Located on top of a hill overlooking Quechee Village, the Quechee Grammar School is a single story, buff brick structure constructed in 1920 in a Renaissance Revival style. The symmetrical structure is capped by a hip roof with end bays which project slightly. Decorating the projecting eaves are metal brackets with square tops decorated by rosettes, wreaths and foliate volutes. The light brick exterior features bands and quoining of contrasting tones. Above the foundation is a watertable course of soldier brick. Centered on the south elevation, the recessed main entrance features a paneled embrasure and a metal door. Limestone Corinthian pilasters decorated by low relief urns and foliage support a full entablature with deeply inscribed letters reading 'Quechee Grammar School'. To each side of the entrance is a set of four 1/1 windows with opaque transoms, outlined by quoins. Outside of the windows, a former entrance has been bricked in and two narrow windows have been covered over. On the ends of the façade, the wall projects slightly. These sections are without openings but contain three large vertical panels of decorative brick.
The west elevation of the school is lit by a band of five windows and smaller 1/1 windows with transoms that extend to the projecting eaves. The metal door entrance on this elevation is sheltered by a gable door hood on four brackets, decorated by exposed rafters. Attached to the east end of the original school is a single story gablefront c. 1980 addition constructed of clapboards and T111 siding. Fenestration includes horizontal windows. Projecting from the rear elevation is a center projection lit by a band of five 1/1 windows and smaller 1/1 windows.
This Renaissance Revival style structure was constructed in 1920, built according to the designs of James Murphy, a Boston architect specializing in modern schoolhouse design. The school opened in the spring of 1921, accommodating grades 1-10 in four classrooms with additional rooms for manual training, domestic science and assemblies. It closed in 1994 when a larger new school was built nearby. It was bought by the Waldorf School.
17. Russ House, 15 Quechee School Street, c. 1878. Contributing building.
Located at the top of the School Street hill, to the east of the Quechee Grammar School, is this mid 19th century structure. The 1 ½ story clapboarded Classic Cottage structure measures 5x2 bays and rests on a granite foundation. The center entrance contains a vertical board door capped by an entablature lintel supported by two small pairs of jigsawn brackets. Windows on the structure contain doublehung 2/2 sash with lipped lintels. Plain cornerboards and a plain frieze outline the structure under overhanging eaves. The gable roof is sheathed in standing seam metal with a single brick chimney.
Extending to the east is a single story wing punctuated on the façade by an additional entrance and a modern window. Attached and offset to the east end is a parallel clapboarded barn with a door opening with clipped corners on the west side. The connected farm buildings end with a lean-to shed on the eastern end, sheathed in a combination of wood shingles and clapboards.
17a. Garage, c. 1940. Contributing building.
North of the main house is a clapboarded garage on a concrete foundation, capped by an asphalt gable roof. There is a single garage door opening on the west gablefront and a lean-to spanning the north elevation.
Deed records refer to this as the "Russ Place" and indicate that this property was purchased by George Russ from Charles Whitman in 1878, a transaction which did not appear to include a house. The 1869 Beers map also does not indicate a house on the site at the time the map was drawn. Russ sold the property to William S. Dewey in 1903 who conveyed part of the property to the Quechee Cemetery Association for the formation of the "New" cemetery. Other adjacent landowners including George Spencer, Lorenzo Shattuck and Frank Saxie also conveyed parts of their land at the same time.
18. Former Quechee Library, 15 Quechee Main Street, 1909. Contributing building.
The former Quechee Library is a small, single story brick structure, rectangular in plan, capped by a slate, hip roof. Moldings on the projecting cornice include a cyma recta profile. A course of soldier brick acts as a belt course, breaking up the regularity of the stretcher bond. The center entrance contains a wooden door with two vertical panels and two starred windows at the top. Sheltering the doorway is a projecting pedimented portico supported by two Roman Doric columns, echoed in matching pilasters along the wall. Wooden steps and a ramp front the entrance. A small starred window featuring a geometric peaked pan capped by diamond panes above. Windows on the side elevations consist of starred, square windows divided into eight sections, capped by a flat arch brick lintel with a sill formed by a row of bricks on end.
A picket fence outlines the front yard. A fieldstone wall is located to the rear of the building with lilacs planted behind.
The Quechee Library Association was formed in 1884 and in the early years housed its collection in a variety of village locations including a millinery shop (#32), a general story (#20) and a bandstand. This small brick building was the library's first permanent home. Beginning in 1907, $5000 was raised to construct a new building and a lot was purchased from the estate of Peter Barker. The new library opened to the public on June 16, 1909. The building now houses the Quechee Chamber of Commerce, which purchased the property in 1993.
19. Scott Tinkham House, 13 Quechee Main Street, c. 1880. Contributing building.
Presently clad in asbestos siding, this late 19th century woodframe residence now serves as apartments and is set with its narrow end to the street. The building rests on a brick foundation and its flat roof profile is decorated by a bracketed cornice. The street façade features a projecting, two story, three-sided bay window with a projecting cornice. The window rests on a concrete foundation. The west side of the block is spanned for the most part by a single story porch supported by turned posts with a two story, rectangular bay window occupying the bay closest to the street. On the east side there is a two story porch turned posts and paired brackets on the second floor. The first floor porch has been replaced with plain posts. Fenestration on the building consists of 1/1 and 2/2 doublehung windows with lipped lintels and several glass and panel doors.
To the east the block connects to a two story, asbestos-sided barn set broadside to the road. The barn is capped by an asphalt-sheathed gable roof with a central dormer on the south slope. The barn is lit by 6/6 windows with a pair of sliding doors and glass and panel door on the first floor.
19a. Barn, c. 1880. Contributing building.
Built on a sloping site adjacent to School Street this late 19th century barn is clapboarded with a fieldstone foundation and a standing seam metal roof. The 1 ½ story structure with a lower level is oriented with its gablefront facing west, punctuated by two 6/6 windows with a sliding door accessing the basement. The top of the gable is sheathed in wood shingles. Plain cornerboards and a simple frieze outline the structure under projecting eaves. The north broad elevation has a vertical board sliding door and upper hatch while the south side is lit by two 6/6 windows and fronted by a lean-to. The only openings on the rear elevation are two 6/6 windows in the attic.
The late 19th century residential block apparently served as the residence of Scott Tinkham (1851-1924), proprietor of the business block to the east. Tinkham was involved in numerous real estate dealings in the village and was married to Nellie Lindsey, daughter of mill owner, William Lindsey. In 1909 Tinkham acquired a small strip of land to the west of the house from William Dewey. In the deed, Dewey, who had just given land to the west to the Quechee Library Association for the construction of a library building, stipulates that Tinkham was prohibited from building any further structures on the land to the east of the east line of library, except "the piazza lately built by Scott Tinkham on the west side of his house".
Deeds indicate that the storage building on the hill was conveyed by Zeb Merchant to William Dewey in 1907. Its exact date of construction is not clear.
20. Tinkham Block, 11 Quechee Main Street, c. 1875. Contributing building.
A good example of a vernacular Italianate style, commercial building, the Tinkham Block was constructed about 1875 to house the Tinkham general store and post office. Stylistic details which evoke the Italianate style include its two story, flat-roofed mass, corner paneled pilasters giving rise to a two part frieze and bracketed cornice, entablature lintels supported by brackets and footed sills. The clapboarded structure is notable for its intact storefronts flanked by pilasters. The first floor consists of three storefronts with a concrete-stepped stoop. Multiglass display windows with raised panel bulkheads alternate with tall four round panel doors capped by transoms.
This Italianate style commercial block was constructed by the Tinkham family shortly after acquiring the land in 1875. In addition to Charles and Scott Tinkham's general store, the block also housed an express office and the post office (the latter remained here until 1992). The Tinkham Block was also the home of the Quechee Library from 1888 to 1891.
21. Tenement (Chumley's), 9 Quechee Main Street, c. 1850/c.1980. Noncontributing building (due to alteration).
This 19th century tenement house achieved its present appearance after extensive alterations in the 1980s which largely obscure its true age although the 2 ½ story clapboarded structure blends in well with its Quechee Main Street neighbors. The structure is oriented with its broad, three bay façade fronting Quechee Main Street. The center entrance contains a modern six panel door flanked by partial sidelights and capped by a peaked lintel. To each side of the entrance is a large multipane, bay window capped by a shake roof. On the upper level a fixed Palladian window is flanked by two three part windows with removable mullions. The asphalt-shingled gable roof is punctuated by a brick corbel cap chimney and displays close eaves on the side elevations with a circular attic window. On the east side door leads to a terrace and patio. A house has been removed from the vacant lot to the east exposing a mortared fieldstone and concrete foundation. A 1875 deed reference for an adjacent property refers to this as Cushing and Abbott's tenement, formerly known as Dimick's store (as it is depicted on the 1869 Beers Map). In 1873, William S. Carter, executor of the Jacob Dimick estate sold the store and land, occupied by Dimick at the time of his death, to Daniel Cushing and Eldridge Abbott.
22. Concrete Structure, Quechee Main Street at High Street, c.1920. Contributing structure
Located at the base of High Street, fronting Quechee Main Street, this poured concrete structure with a two panel door is flanked by dry fieldstone walls. The structure acts as an entry to the watermains serving the village.
23. Storehouse 6, 2 High Street, c. 1890. Contributing building.
Storehouse #6 is a 2 ½ story gablefront, clapboarded structure which presently rests on a concrete foundation. The building is capped by a standing seam metal roof, punctuated by a brick chimney at the rear. Simple cornerboards and a plain frieze outline the structure under projecting eaves. The outer bays of the gablefront contain doublehung 12/12 windows with simple surrounds. On the first floor the center bay contains two small upper 3 x 2 light windows. Centered on the second floor is a wooden sign reading 'Storehouse 6'. A single 12/12 window lights the attic. Suspended above the window is a metal hook. The east elevation is lit by five 8/8 windows on the second floor with a single 8/8 window centered on the first floor. Punctuating the west elevation are four 8/8 second floor windows while a sliding door and concrete loading dock are located on the first.
23a. Outbuilding, c. 1890. Contributing building.
To the west of the storehouse is this small clapboarded outbuilding, resting on a concrete foundation and capped by a standing seam metal roof. A single sliding door punctuates the gablefront.
24. Lampshire House, 4 High Street, 1868. Contributing building.
The Lampshire House is a 1 ½ story, clapboarded side gable structure measuring 5 x 2 bays and resting on a granite foundation. The central recessed entrance contains a four panel door with thin partial sidelights and a paneled embrasure. The flat door hood is supported by large cutout brackets. Simple pilaster strips support a plain frieze with molded eaves and cornice returns on the side elevations. A modern full shed dormer spans the front of the asphalt-shingled roof. Windows on the structure contain a mixture of 2/2 sash, multipane doublehung units and other modern replacements. Extending behind the main house is a large two story addition built on what was originally a single story ell. The east side porch is supported by turned posts with an entry containing a four panel door of which the two upper panels are glazed. A gabled entrance porch projects from the west side.
Deed records indicate that Joseph Parker, William Dewey and William Lindsey sold this lot of land to Eliza Lampshire in 1868 for $200. It is historically referred to in records as the Lampshire House although it was sold by the family in 1910. Ruth Eliza Lampshire (1836-1911) and her husband Edward P. Lampshire (1831-1904) are buried in the Quechee Cemetery. The J.C. Parker Company purchased the house in 1911 and it continued to serve as mill housing until it was sold by the mill company in 1954.
25. Davidson House, 6 High Street, c. 1860. Contributing building.
The Davidson House is a 1 ½ story clapboarded gablefront structure measuring 3 x 2 bays. The sidehall plan building presently rests on a brick and concrete foundation. A single brick chimney rises from the east slope of the asphalt-sheathed roof while a gable dormer punctuates the west side. The recessed sidehall entrance contains a four panel door with full sidelights and is capped by a plain sill. Simple cornerboards and a simple frieze outline the structure. The projecting eaves end in cornice returns on the gablefront. Windows on the structure contain doublehung 2/2 sash with a large projecting bay window added in the attic, supported by brackets.
Deed records indicate that this parcel of land encompassing sixty square rods, was sold by Joseph Egerton to Mary Davidson and Olive Davis in 1859. The 1869 Beers Map does include a house on the site, owned by Mrs. Davidson. The two women sold the property to George and Fannie Spencer in 1903. Margaret Wiggin owned the property from 1914 until 1934. It has remained in private ownership over the years except for the years it was owned by the Quechee Lakes Corporation (1968-1976).
26. Shattuck House, 8 High Street, c. 1860. Contributing building.
The house at 8 High Street is a 1 ½ story gablefront structure sheathed in vinyl siding and resting on a concrete foundation. The standing seam metal roof is punctuated by two brick chimneys on the ridge and a shed dormer on the west slope. The entryless gablefront measures three bays wide containing 2/2 windows. The principal entry is located on the east elevation and contains a modern metal door. Windows on the structure include replacement 1/1 windows on the east elevation and 2/2 windows elsewhere.
This lot of land was sold by Joseph Egerton to Charles Shattuck in 1859 for $225. In 1873 Shattuck sold the property, which by then included a house, to Frank Saxie for $1200. The house was owned by Saxie until 1909 and by Daniel Badger from 1909 until 1920. The 1906 Sandborn Insurance map indicates that this property originally had an attached two story barn at right angles to the northeast of the main house, as well as an attached single story shed (roughly on the site of the present detached garage).
26a. Garage, c. 1980. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Located to the east of the main house is this modern garage structure, constructed of T111 siding with concrete floor and a single door on its broad gablefront.
27. Mill House, 10 High Street, c. 1850. Contributing building.
The westernmost of the three mill houses on High Street owned and built by the J.C. Parker Company, this 1 ½ story gablefront house appears little changed since its construction in the mid 19th century. The clapboarded structure rests on a granite foundation and is capped by an asphalt roof with a brick chimney and a shed dormer on the west slope. Plain cornerboards and a simple frieze outline the structure, which displays cornice returns on the gablefront. The sidehall entrance contains a glass and wood door displaying 3 x 3 lights over a horizontal and two vertical panels. Flanking the door are full sidelights. Excepting the tripart picture of window in the gable, the windows contain original 6/6 sash with lipped lintels. A blind opening and a glass and panel door are located on the east elevation. Behind the main house is an attached barn with a double door opening on the east side.
All three of the mill houses were owned by the local mill (J.C. Parker and later Harris, Emery) until 1954 when they were transferred to private ownership.
28. Mill House, 12 High Street, c. 1850. Contributing building.
Like its neighbors this former mill house displays a 1 ½ story gablefront form with a sidehall entrance. The clapboarded structure rests on a combination concrete block/granite foundation and is capped by a standing seam metal roof. The entrance contains a glass and panel door with 3 x 3 upper lights and is flanked by full sidelights and capped by an entablature lintel. Windows on the structure contain modern 6/6 sash with snap-in mullions but retain their lipped lintels. The upstairs attic window contains a pair of modern 8/8 windows. Other modern fenestration includes the shed dormer on the east slope and the greenhouse window. A small shed dormer punctuates the west roof slope and a concrete block chimney is located at the rear of the single story wing.
29. Mill House, 16 High Street, c. 1850. Contributing building.
The most altered of the three High Street millhouses, this 1 ½ story gablefront structure has seen the addition of aluminum siding and a three-sided bay window on its façade. The gable roof marking the sidehall entrance is supported by plain posts. Modern partial sidelights flank the six panel door. Fenestration includes modern 1/1 replacement sash. A single brick chimney rises from the ridge of the standing seam metal roof which ends in cornice returns on the gablefront. Extending at the rear is a single story wing.
30. New Cemetery, Cemetery Road, 1903+. Contributing site.
The more recent of the two cemeteries in the district, the "New" Cemetery is located to the east of School Street, accessed by Cemetery Road from Old Quechee Road. A dirt road cuts through the center of the cemetery. The large open space is without trees except on the edges and the stones are arranged in east-west rows facing south. The stones are largely granite with the earliest dating to the early 20th century. The cemetery is still in use today.
30a. Shed, c. 1919. Contributing building.
Located in the southwest portion of the cemetery is this single story gablefront clapboarded shed. The asphalt-shingled gable roof displays projecting eaves.
The "New" Cemetery was made possible by a donation of land in 1903 from William S. Dewey, who conveyed part of the western adjacent property on High Street to the Quechee Cemetery Association for the formation of the cemetery. Other adjacent landowners including George Spencer, Lorenzo Shattuck and Frank Saxie also conveyed parts of their land at the same time.
31. Old Cemetery. Deweys Mill Road. 1774+. Contributing site.
Located at the junction of Deweys Mill Road and Old Quechee Road, the Old Cemetery occupies a roughly triangularly shaped area, leveled by retaining walls along both roads. A chain link fence sets off the western bounds of the cemetery. Along Old Quechee Road, the top of the stone wall is level with the shoulder along the road with concrete steps leading down to the cemetery. The gravestones are arranged in north-south rows, facing west. Older markers include slate stones with urn motifs as well as later marble and granite stones. Interspersed are later larger monuments including obelisks and family plots, set off by a boarder of granite curbing or cornerstones. Mature pine trees are located along the southern boundary of the cemetery and a few additional pine trees are located within the cemetery.
The oldest legible tombstone in the cemetery is reportedly that of Abida Marsh, dated 1774. The burying ground was the final resting place for many of the village's residents from the late 18th until the early 20th century. It also includes a number of prominent citizens including Joseph Marsh, the first Lieutenant Governor of Vermont, as well as soldiers from the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812 and the Civil War. The 1889 town history indicates that there were 232 decedents in the old Quechee Cemetery at that time.
31a. Town Tomb, Deweys Mill Road, 1829+.
Built into the hillside across Old Quechee Road from the cemetery, the town tomb is constructed of large, rough-faced granite blocks. Above the double doors with iron bars is a smooth lintel inscribed :1960". Capping this stone is a rough-faced pediment upon which the dates "1829-1899" are chiseled. Retaining walls of drylaid fieldstone are located to each side.
32. Jennings House, 16 Deweys Mill Road, c. 1820. Contributing building.
The Jennings House is a 1 ½ story Cape style structure measuring 5x2 bays. The clapboarded structure rests on a brick foundation. The front slope of the asphalt-shingled roof is punctuated by two small shed dormers with six lights each while a larger shed dormer spans the rear slope. The gable ends display plain cornerboards and cornice returns. The center entrance contains a glass and wood door flanked by partial sidelights. The c. 1880 pedimented front porch is decorated by a sunburst motif. The porch is supported by chamfered posts with a wooden deck and a staggered grid wooden balustrade. Fenestration on the building includes a mixture of original 6/6 windows with modern 1/1 and 6/6 sash. Offset to the east is a single story wing resting on a mortared stone foundation. The gable dormer on the front contains two 6/6 windows while a shed dormer is located on the rear elevation. A white picket fence on a fieldstone wall marks the streetline.
32a. Outbuilding, c.1920. Contributing building.
Located on the hillside behind the house is a small concrete structure with sloping walls and a ventilator on the gable roof.
This early 19th century house was known as the Enos Jennings Place in the mid 19th century and was conveyed by Jennings to Joseph Parker, William Dewey and William Lindsey in 1868. At the time of the 1869 Beers Map, the map indicates that the house was owned by the J.C. Parker Company. It was not until 1937 when the house was sold by the Harris, Emery Company to Mary Davis, that the property returned to private ownership.
In the late 19th century, this building housed the millinery shop of Mrs. M. Antoinette Kendall. In 1884 Mrs. Kendall offered to house the 285 books of the Quechee Library and act as librarian for a salary of fifty cents a week, an arrangement which lasted until 1888 when the library collection was moved to the Tinkham Block (see building #20).
33. The Emporium, 2 Quechee Main Street, 1970. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Located at the corner of Quechee Main Street near the covered bridge, the Emporium is a woodframe structure which wraps around the corner with an angled, three-sided façade. Most of the building is sheathed in vinyl siding with an asphalt roof which overhangs the front wall, forming a recessed porch. The overhang of the roof is supported by plain posts. Plate glass windows punctuate the façade, resting on a brick base. Other fenestration includes a multilight bay window and an 8/8 window facing the bridge. An exterior brick chimney is located on the west end.
This building stands on the site of the old mill offices, one of the mill buildings which was demolished in 1964. The Emporium building was constructed after John Davidson, who had the initial vision for the Quechee Lakes Corporation development, purchased the mill in 1969. The Emporium building was initially leased to a store called 'Scotland by the Yard'.
34. The Mill, 6 Quechee Main Street, 1870/1915/1982. Contributing building.
Although only a portion of the mill still stands today, this brick structure is still an important reminder of the textile mill which dominated the village economy for almost one hundred years. The two story brick building is capped by a low gable roof and punctuated by seven bays containing doublehung 15/15 windows with arched lintels consisting of two rows of header bricks and rough-faced granite sills. The second bay on the north side is marked by a low gable doorhood supported by two decorative jigsawn brackets. To the west is a somewhat smaller single story brick building, stuccoed on the west side, and punctuated by five arched bays. Set back further to the west is a smaller brick structure accessed by an arched opening containing wooden double doors.
To the east of the brick structure is a 1970 1 ½ story clapboarded building resting on a fieldstone foundation, with a steeply pitched gable roof sheathed in standing seam metal and punctuated by a brick chimney. A smaller gable-roofed clapboarded building is setback further to the east.
On the rear elevation, overlooking the dam and the river, the arched upper openings contain plate glass. A large semicircular opening on the first floor is filled with glass and projecting from the building is a single story clapboarded section, suspended over the river. Three gable wall dormers rise from the rear slopes of the clapboarded buildings to the east.
Mills have operated on or around this location since the town was settled, to take advantage of the enormous waterpower of the Ottauquechee River. John Downer & Co. obtained this property in 1825, building a six story brick building on the site. The mill soon failed and changed hands several times. In 1840 Francis K. Nichols & Co. became the first mill in the country to manufacture shoddy, a fabric combining reused soft rags and new wool. In 1857 the mill was acquired by J.C. Parker and Denison Taft of Barre, Vermont. After Taft's retirement the following year, Parker continued in business alone until 1866, when he formed a partnership with W.S. Dewey and William Lindsey. Parker continued to operate the mill until 1906. The mill is believed to have been the largest U.S. producer of fine, soft flannel for baby clothes.
In October 1869 the mill suffered extensive damage due to high water which undermined and caused the collapse of the north wing. In 1870 the building was rebuilt including a three story brick addition on the west end. In 1908 the mill was sold to the Harris, Emery Company. Substantial enlargements to the mill in 1915 nearly doubled its output and included replacing the white clapboard wing attached to the 1870 addition with a new drying room and sales area. At the same time the weaving room in the main section of the mill was enlarged by moving the northern wall out closer to the road. A concrete dam was constructed in 1926, replacing a wooden crib dam.
The Harris, Emery Company closed the mill in 1951 and the company holdings were sold to the Frank G. W. McKittrick Company of Lowell, Massachusetts and leased back to Harris, Emery. The mill building was sold to William Tarbox Dewey and John Cone, Sr. in the late 1950s. Soon thereafter Dewey sold his interest to the Hartford Woolen Company, owned by Cone. In 1964 the upper floors of the brick mill building and the eastern wing were demolished by Mr. Cone, who considered them a safety hazard. The structures which remained were those portions built by J.C. Parker and Harris, Emery. Lawrence Rockefeller bought the mill building from John Cone and then sold it to the Quechee Lakes Corporation in 1969. They added the wooden annex on the eastern end of the mill. In 1980 Simon Pearce bought the building and modified the interior to accommodate his glass blowing operation. The hydroelectric plant was added by Pearce in 1982. Prior to this time the machinery at the mill was operated by water driven line shafts.
35. Parker House, 16 Quechee Main Street, 1857. Contributing building.
Constructed for the owner of the adjacent mill in 1857, the Parker House is an excellent example of the French Second Empire style. The impressive two story brick structure is capped by a mansard roof sheathed in a combination of fishscale and regular slate shingles and capped by iron cresting. Hip and jerkinhead dormers punctuate the roof and the cornice displays large brackets alternating with sets of three smaller brackets. The rectangular building mass is enlivened by a variety of projections including bay windows and porches. The porch at the northwest corner is supported by chamfered posts on bases with inset panels which are spanned by urned balusters with jigsawn members covering the airspace below the porch. The four panel door on the north elevation, sheltered by the porch, is framed by transom and sidelights and capped by an entablature lintel supported by brackets. The smaller northeast corner porch is also supported by chamfered posts which in this case are spanned by elliptical arches and shelters a full length window. A three-sided bay window projects from the center of the façade while a rectangular bay window is located on the east elevation. Other fenestration includes doublehung 2/2 windows and thin paired 6/6 windows with entablature lintels supported by end brackets.
Extending behind the main house is a two story mansarded brick wing of similar height featuring a glassed-in porch with chamfered posts on the east side. Windows on this section consist of 6/6 sash with plain sills and lintels. A tall brick chimney with three rectangular panels at the base projects from the roof which is also punctuated by hip roof dormers. Maps indicate that there were once several barns to the rear of the property.
This elaborate mid 19th century home was constructed by J.C. Parker in 1857, the same year he and a partner acquired the adjacent mill from William Jarvis. A prominent local citizen, Parker held several town offices, was a member of the Vermont General Assembly from 1867-1868 and of the State Senate in 1874. In addition to his mill interests Parker owned over 1600 acres of farm land, raised a herd of more than 500 sheep and bred Hambletonian, Clay and Morgan horses. Parker was appointed Treasurer of Vermont Agricultural Society in 1869 and remained a director of that organization until his death in 1898. By the time Quechee Lakes Corporation acquired the property in the 1970s, the house had been vacant for years and was in disrepair. The Parker House was subsequently renovated and served as the offices of the Quechee Lakes Corporation. The house presently is operated as a bed and breakfast inn.
36. Wolcott-Lindsey House, 22 Quechee Main Street, c. 1845. Contributing building.
The Wolcott-Lindsey House is a 5x2 bay, 1 ½ story brick structure constructed c. 1845, resting on a granite foundation with a standing seam metal gable roof punctuated by two interior end brick chimneys. The boxed cornice with cyma reversa molding ends in cornice returns on the gable ends. The center entrance contains a modern six panel door with modern partial sidelights and wrought iron railings. The brick surface surrounding the entrance is marked by the profile of a previous Victorian porch. Windows on the structure contain 2/2 sash.
Extending behind the main house is a single story clapboarded ell with a metal roof. A porch is located in the southeast corner, supported by chamfered posts. Projecting to the east of the ell is a lattice-walled addition set on a fieldstone foundation. A single story flat-roofed addition on a brick foundation projects from the southwest corner.
36a. Barn, c. 1850. Contributing building.
To the southeast of the house is a broad-sided, clapboarded barn. Centered on the roof is a pyramidal capped cupola with rectangular louvered openings. Three brackets decorate each side of the ventilator. Facing the street are two sets of sliding double doors of differing sizes, sheathed in diagonal boards. An additional diagonal board door accesses the hayloft above in addition to two 2/2 windows.
The land on which this brick house stands was purchased by Henry Wolcott from Lyman Raymond for $400 in 1842. Wolcott's daughter, Laura, sold the property to William Lindsey (1833-1912), business partner of mill owner J.C. Parker, for $2500 in 1876. Newspaper accounts indicate that Lindsey improved his house with the addition of a portico over the front door in 1884 and enlarged his woodshed and constructed a back piazza in 1882. The property was later owned by Nellie Tinkham, daughter of William and Lindsey and wife of Scott Tinkham, who sold the property in 1930.
39. Village Green Building, c. 1850 and 1992. Noncontributing building (due to alteration and age).
Containing the post office, a deli and apartments, the Village Green complex consists of two adjacent structures which achieved their present appearance in 1992. The structure to the east is a 5 x 3 bay, side gable structure sheathed in vinyl siding with an asphalt roof punctuated by skylights. This structure was on of five 19th century buildings moved to this site in the late 1960s, as part of the early Quechee Lakes Corporation plan. (The other four buildings were subsequently razed). The remaining building formerly served as a wayside inn at Hammondsville, Vermont. Windows contain 6/6 sash and the double-doored entrance is fronted by a gable porch supported by plain posts with stairs and balusters constructed of pressure-treated wood. Set at an angle to the northwest is another two story structure with a two story porch spanning the long elevation. Fenestration includes 8/8 and 6/6 windows and glass and panel metal doors.
40. Bandstand, 1985. Noncontributing structure (due to age).
Set in a grassy area south of the post office, this modern bandstand is octagonal in plan, constructed of stained wood with a plain stick balustrade and latticed airspace. The bandstand was built by the Quechee Chamber of Commerce and dedicated to its founder, Michael Yaroshuk on June 2, 1985. The bandstand sits on former pasture land which was converted into a 15 acre common area by the Quechee Lakes Corporation in 1975.
41. Head House, 38 Quechee Main Street, c. 1880. Contributing building.
Although presently in poor condition, this late 19th century residence appears to be relatively unchanged since its construction . The 1 ½ story structure displays a broad gablefront with a clapboarded first floor contrasting with a gable that is sheathed in wood shingles. The house rests on a concrete block foundation and the roof is sheathed in metal. Fronting the façade is a four bay single story porch supported by chamfered posts with capitals resting on a shingled wall. The sidehall entrance contains a glass and panel door. The predominant window form is a doublehung 6/1 sash, some of which are flanked by blinds.
Offset to the southeast is a 1 ½ story wing resting on a fieldstone foundation. A gable wall dormer is located above a glass panel door on the first floor. Like the main house, the ell displays a clapboarded first floor and a shingled front gable.
41a. Outbuilding, c. 1900. Contributing building.
Located to the east of the main house is a two story outbuilding built into the side of the hill and capped by a low gable roof. The upper level is accessed at grade on the west side through two paneled doors featuring three panels across. The lower level is accessed on the north side through two sets of sliding vertical board doors. The building rests on a fieldstone foundation with a fieldstone retaining wall to the west. Plain trim and projecting eaves outline the structure.
Historically, this house was part of a thirty acre piece of land extending on both sides of Main Street. The present house dates to the ownership of Orman B. Head, who acquired the property from his parents, Lucy and John Head in 1875 with the stipulation that he would provide for them for the rest of their natural lives. The deed further stipulates that if Orman were to marry and his parents chose not to live with the newlyweds, the parents would be given free use of the "brick house on the premises". This brick house is apparently no longer extant but may have preceded the present house on the site, judging from the appearance of a Head House on the 1869 Beers Map and stylistic evidence suggesting the present house postdates 1869. A local newspaper account notes that in 1888 O.B. Head was making improvements on his house under the workmanship of Horace Brown. The property was sold by John H. Head in 1910 to Otto and Mabel Sargent who continued to own it until 1947.
42. Frink-Billings House, 40 Quechee Main Street, c. 1890. Contributing building.
This 1 ½ story clapboarded gablefront building rests on a brick foundation and dates to the late 19th century. The building is capped by an asphalt roof with a brick chimney on the ridge. The two bay façade features a sidehall entrance marked by a single bay porch supported by chamfered posts spanned by a jigsawn, two tier balustrade. The front door displays a large upper glass pane with decorative panels below. Adjacent to the entrance is a three sided, single story bay window with a pair of 1/1 windows on the front face. The second floor of the façade is punctuated by two 2/2 windows with lipped lintels. Pilaster strips support cornice returns.
Extending to the east is a clapboarded ell on a brick foundation. The ell is fronted by a single story porch supported by Roman Doric columns rests on a shingled wall. The door to the ell has two upper glass panes over two lower panels. The ell is lit by 2/2 windows including one such window in a gabled wall dormer.
42a. Barn, c. 1890. Contributing building.
Located to the southwest of the main house is this clapboarded two story, gablefront barn. Simple pilaster strips and cornice returns outline the structure. A sliding double door with diagonal board panels accesses the gablefront with a smaller diagonal board door accessing the loft above. A circular louvered vent is located in the attic.
This house was apparently built by Hartwell and Melinda Frink shortly after purchasing the land from Ornan Head in 1889. The Frinks sold the property to Clarence Billings in 1911 who continued to own the property until 1952.
43. Gage House, 42 Quechee Main Street, 1812. Contributing building.
A good example of vernacular Federal style architecture, this early 19th century structure displays a characteristic 2 ½ story, 5 x 2 bay, side gable form with a Georgian plan. Projecting from the center entrance is a c. 1900 single story elliptical, flat roof supported by four Roman Doric columns and capped by an urned balustrade. The six panel door is flanked by partial sidelights and is capped by a two tier elliptical fanlight. With the exception of a single 12/12 and a single 2/2 lighting the attic, all of the windows contain 6/6 sash with thin mullions; some of which are flanked by blinds. First floor openings are capped by semicircular recessed brick lintels. Those on the second floor extend to the overhanging eaves and boxed cornice. The brick is laid in a common bond alternating six courses of stretcher brick to a single course of headers. Several diamond-shaped iron tie rods are notable on the façade. An additional lower level of brick is exposed at the rear. The asphalt-shingled roof displays overhanging eaves and two interior brick chimneys rise near the ridge from the rear roof slope.
Extending to the west of the main house is a single story clapboarded wing capped by a metal roof with overhanging eaves. A gable marks the entrance to the wing. There is a single garage door on the western end, in addition to a glass and panel door, fixed 3 x2 window and 6/6 sash.
A wooden fence sets off the shallow front yard. Mature lilac bushes are located to the east of the house.
Little is known of William Gage, a gentleman farmer and Congregationalist who reportedly built this house during the War of 1812. Gage died in 1851.
44. Scott Tinkham Tenement House, 50 Quechee Main Street, c. 1880. Contributing building.
Although it is not visible from the street, this late 19th century structure has been greatly added onto in recent years. The 1 ½ story structure is clapboarded and rests on a brick foundation. The gable roof is sheathed in asphalt shingles. Simple pilaster strips give rise to projecting eaves which end in returns on the gablefront. The sidehall entrance is marked by a flat door hood on triangular braces. Windows contain 2/2 sash with lipped lintels and blinds. A small Queen Anne style window with multicolored panes is located on the east elevation. Extending to the east of house is a lateral ell with a single story porch supported by chamfered posts with a glass and panel door under the porch and a large pine tree in front of the ell. Extending behind the house is a large modern addition with decks, exterior stairs and modern casement windows.
According to deeds, this was the homestead of Eula Patterson, formerly known as the Scott Tinkham tenement house. Local newspaper accounts indicate that in 1888 Scott Tinkham commenced work on two tenement houses, constructed by Asa Russ with Peter Gobie of Woodstock responsible for the masonry. This would appear to be one of those buildings.
45. Painchard House, 52 Quechee Main Street, c. 1880. Contributing building.
Set close to the road, 52 Quechee Main Street is a 1 ½ story clapboarded structure resting on a granite foundation. Projecting from the gablefront is a two bay, single story porch supported by chamfered posts with a stick balustrade. The six panel front door is capped by a lipped lintel. At the northeast corner of the building there is a built out, enclosed vestibule. Windows on the structure contain 2/2 sash with lipped lintels. Simple pilaster strips give rise to a plain frieze and cornice returns. A modern brick chimney with upper flue rises just off the ridge of the gable roof which is covered with standing seam metal. Projecting from the east of the main house is a single story ell lit by 6/6 windows. A lower level is exposed at the rear of the building with a deck and modern addition on the rear elevation.
46. The Tontine, 56 Quechee Main Street. c. 1810. Contributing building.
Apparently not erected as a single dwelling, the house at 56 Quechee Main Street is a 2 ½ story, 5 x 2 bay, woodframe structure built above a lower level of brick. The house is sheathed in vinyl siding and capped by a standing seam metal roof with two interior brick chimneys. A c.1880 single story, four bay porch spans the façade, supported by turned posts and balusters. Underneath the porch there are two glass and panel doors and paired 1/1 windows. Upstairs the 2/1 windows with blinds are more widely spaced. Two 12/12 windows still light the basement.
46a. Shed, 56 Quechee Main Street. c. 1940. Contributing building.
Behind the main house is a single story shed constructed of novelty siding with two sliding doors and two upper rectangular windows on its long façade.
References to "the tontine house" date back as early as the 1828 deed although no one really knows why. A tontine is defined as an insurance plan participated in by a group, such that annuities accumulate when members die so that the survivor receives the whole. Perhaps such a scheme was used by a group to build this building. Some believe that this may have been a gambling house and a hotel during the late 1800s although there is no documentation to substantiate either claim. In 1828 Abel Barron gave Shubel Russ a quitclaim to various parcel of land including that on which "stands what is called the tontine house situated east of said Barron's". In 1868 John and Albert Russ conveyed to William Carter a small piece of land (on the north side of the highway?) on which stands "the Tontine". The reference to the north side of the highway would appear to be an error as the 1869 Beers map shows a structure owned by W.S. Carter in the present location. A 1938 deed notes the existence of a large barn behind the Tontine which was apparently replaced by the present shed.
47. Brady House, 62 Quechee Main Street. c. 1840. Contributing building.
The mid 19th century dwelling at 62 Quechee Main Street is notable as a good and intact example of vernacular Greek Revival architecture. Set close to the road, the 1 ½ story gablefront, clapboarded structure rests on a partial concrete block foundation and is capped by a standing seam metal roof with a brick chimney near the ridge. Typical of the Greek Revival style, the house displays a sidehall entrance containing a four panel door with full sidelights and a paneled embrasure and is capped by a full entablature lintel. At the corners of the building pilaster strips give rise to a plain frieze and simple projecting cornice which returns on the gable end. Windows on the structure contain doublehung 6/6 windows with blinds and entablature lintels. The building is fronted by a c. 1880 two bay, single story porch supported by turned porch posts which are spanned by turned balusters. A lower clapboarded level is exposed at the rear by the sloping site.
According to deed records this house was moved to its present location by Margaret Wiggin from the "Brady House premises". The house was moved to a quarter acre lot Wiggin purchased from Scott Tinkham in 1915. The present owner, Alice Koloski, acquired the property in 1940 from Margaret Wiggin.
47a. Garage, 65 Quechee Main Street, 1990. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Located across the street from the house is a 26' x 26' garage constructed of T111 siding with a metal roof and concrete floor. There are two garage doors on the gablefront and a single steel door on the side. Deed records suggest that the present garage replaces an earlier small barn or garage.
48. Potters Shop, 66 Quechee Main Street. c. 1820. Contributing building.
This early 19th century residence has been greatly expanded and altered in recent years for use as apartments. The building façade consists of a broad gablefront with a central six panel modern metal door flanked by two three-sided by windows. Three modern 8/8 replacement windows with snap-in mullions light the upper level. The building rests on a concrete foundation. The exterior chimney on the west elevation has been sheathed in vertical boards. Behind the façade is an expansive rear addition consisting of three levels comprised of a two story porch built over a two car garage. Shed wall dormers line both sides of the standing seam metal roof. A three story exterior staircase is located on the east side. The predominant window form is a modern 8/8 window with a few modern hopper windows on the side elevations.
A deed describing the bounds of an adjacent property suggests that the "Potters Shop" was standing on this site as early as 1828. There is no further information on the use that gave the building its name. The earliest deed so far uncovered for this property indicates that in 1868 Albert and John Russ sold W.S. Carter a small tract of land on which the Potters Shop stands on the south side the road through the village. In 1899 Mrs. W.S. Carter sold the property with the potters shop to Fred and Julia Farrington, who sold it to F. Warren Wiggin in 1912. The Hudson family owned the property from 1912 until 1960.
49. Warner House, 76 Quechee Main Street. c. 1876. Contributing building.
Set close to the road, the house at 76 Quechee Main Street is a late 19th century 1 ½ story clapboarded structure with a tin metal roof and a granite foundation. The gablefront is framed by simple cornerboards giving rise to a plain frieze which arches at the top of the cornerboards. The sidehall entrance contains a glass and panel door and is sheltered by a plain doorhood supported by simple wooden members. Windows on the structure contain 2/2 sash with lipped lintels and blinds.
Extending to the east from the rear of the main house is a clapboarded ell of equal height with an attached single car, gablefront garage. The ell entrance is marked by a broken arched door hood on simple supports. There are two adjacent 2/2 windows with lipped lintels.
49a. Shed. 76 Quechee Main Street, c. 1940. Contributing building.
To the west of the main house is a long single story, woodframe outbuilding capped by a shed roof. A picket fence marks the front of the property.
This house appears to have been constructed shortly after Joseph C. Parker sold the lot of land to Melissa Warner for $200 in 1876. In 1905 Warner sold the property with buildings to Herbert Montefiore.
50. Former Schoolhouse #3 (Carnes-Gobie House). 86 Quechee Main Street. c. 1850. Contributing building.
Set close to the road, this former schoolhouse is a 1 ½ story gablefront structure resting on a granite foundation and sheathed in vinyl siding. The roof is covered in standing seam metal and there is an off ridge brick chimney. The sidehall entrance displays partial sidelights and cornice returns frame the upper level. Windows on the structure contain double hung 4/4 replacement windows. Extending to the east is a lateral, gabled ell with a built-out front that may have originally been an enclosed porch. Fenestration on the ell includes a modern door and a modern 1/1 window.
Attached to the side of the ell is a shed-roofed outbuilding punctuated by a metal stove pipe. The building is lit by two pane windows and a modern door with nine upper panes of glass over a panel.
50a. Ice House, c. 1900. Contributing building.
To the east of the ell is a small clapboarded ice house with a side gable and a single door opening on the broad front. A gabled ventilator is centered on the roof.
In 1872 John Porter, on behalf of the School District, sold this property including the White Schoolhouse serving School District #3, land and outbuildings to Joseph C. Parker who sold it to James and Nora Carnes the following year. The property was later given to the Carnes' daughter, Jennie Gobie. Ector and Jennie Gobie owned the property until 1963.
51. Barron-Perkins House, 102 Quechee Main Street, c. 1840. Contributing building.
Currently under renovation, this 1 ½ story gablefront structure has recently seen the removal of wide siding and a single story glassed porch, exposing a Greek Revival style façade. The third of the four bays contains a four panel door flanked by full sidelights with recessed pilasters and cornerblocks. The gable roof is sheathed in standing seam metal. Windows on the structure contain plate glass windows. A lateral ell with modern windows ending in a single car garage has been removed.
51a. Barn, 102 Quechee Main Street, c. 1900. Contributing building.
To the west of the house is a freestanding, vinyl-sided barn with a standing seam metal roof. A sliding door punctuates the gablefront.
The exact date of construction of the main house is not clear from the deeds although the recent removal of façade alterations has revealed a c. 1840 Greek Revival gablefront. The earliest deed found for the property indicates that it was sold by Thomas McHugh to Edward McCabe in 1870, who sold it to William Bragg in 1871 and sold again in 1871 to William Short for $1600. William Short sold the property in 1880 to Thomas Dutton who transferred it to E.J. Barron in 1899 who retained ownership until 1912. Later deeds refer to the property as the Ed Barron Homestead so clearly there was a house in place by this time. The house was occupied for many years by Vera Perkins, village postmistress who indicated that her father built the house when the other mill construction was occurring in the village. Based on the appearance of the house, Mr. Perkins may have constructed the former ell, as an addition to the older, main house.
52. O'Neal House, 114 Quechee Main Street, c. 1870. Contributing building.
Set close to the road, 114 Quechee Main Street is a 1 ½ story gablefront structure, much added onto and updated. Sheathed in vinyl siding, the house rests on a brick foundation. The three bay façade is without an entry, containing instead 1/1 vinyl replacement windows. Other fenestration on the building includes 1/1 windows and casement windows. The roof is sheathed in standing seam metal and features a central brick chimney. The cornice ends in returns on the gable ends; any cornerboards have been obscured by siding. Projecting from each of the side elevations is a cross gable. A built-out vestibule and exterior staircase are located on the side. A single story porch with chamfered posts fronts the east side of the house with a six panel door with clear plate glass sidelights.
53. House, 124 Quechee Main Street, c. 1870. Noncontributing building (due to alteration)
Set close to the road and partially obscured by a fence and large pin trees, this house is constructed on a low hill, built up by a retaining wall of concrete block. The clapboarded house is L-shaped in plan oriented with a two bay wide gable end to the street. The sidehall entrance contains a modern wooden door with upper glass. The standing seam metal roof is punctuated by a shed wall dormer containing a 1/1 window on the west side and an offcenter brick chimney. A single story ell fronted by a porch with wrought iron supports extends to the east, joining a single story ell/barn with a large picture window on its façade and a ventilator on the roof. Metal awnings shelter many of the building's windows. The east side of the ell acts as the primary entrance to the house and is sheathed in vertical boards on the first floor with a sliding glass door.
53a. Garage, c. 1960. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Located to the east of the main house is a two car garage with a broad gablefront. Two small twentieth century prefabricated metal sheds are located behind the house.
54. Bythrow-Cole House, 156 Quechee Main Street, 1927/c. 1950. Noncontributing building.
Much altered and added onto over the years, the earliest portion of this house began as a catalog house purchased from the Montgomery Ward Company and erected here in 1927. The original structure, consisting of four rooms, is the section to the east. The use of differing concrete blocks distinguishes the original house from later additions. The 1 ½ story structure is presently clad in vinyl siding. Projecting from the gablefront is an enclosed porch which rests on brick piers and is lit by continuous jalousie windows. A large picture window lights the first floor while two 6/1 windows are located in the attic. Two brick chimneys rise from the asphalt roof. There is an additional entrance on the west side and a deck at the rear.
54a. Garage, c. 1940. Contributing building.
To the east of the house is a two car, gablefront garage constructed of novelty siding with a sheet metal roof. The façade is punctuated by 3x2 fixed windows. A shed addition and lower basement are located at the rear.
It appears that this house was erected by the Harris, Emery Company in 1927 as mill housing. The company subsequently sold it to Clarence Bythrow in 1928. When Bythrow sold the property to Wallace Achilles in 1930 the deed included a mortgage from Montgomery Ward for $1824. Floyd and Pauline Cole purchased the property in 1935 and made various additions to the property during the family's fifty-seven years of ownership. Pauline Cole, a homemaker, teacher and millworker, served as the village librarian from 1952 until her death in 1992, at the age of 86. The property was sold by the Cole family in 1994.
55. Yattin-Baker House, 2 River Road, c. 1877. Contributing building.
Sheathed in aluminum siding, the Yattin-Baker house is a 1 ½ story structure with a steeply pitched gablefront which is three bays wide. The roof is sheathed in standing seam metal and punctuated by skylights. A brick chimney is located on the rear of the roof ridge. The house displays a sidehall plan and the wooden front door has 3x3 glass panes over two-vertical panes. Extending to the west is a 1 ½ story ell measuring three bays wide. The front roof overhangs the ell entrance and is supported by plain modern wood posts.
55a. Garage, c. 1920. Contributing building.
To the north of the house is a small garage with a metal shed roof. The garage is sheathed in tar paper with an overlay of lathing. Double swing doors are located on the front.
The land for this house was sold by Joseph C. Parker to Lewis Yattin in 1877 at a cost of $700. Yattin apparently built the present house shortly thereafter and in 1884 sold the property to Misael Baker for $1825. Newspaper articles indicate that in 1884 Yattin constructed a new house on Woodstock Avenue near Peter King's. The Bakers continued to own the house until 1920. In 1925 John Howland sold the farm to the Harris, Emery Company. In 1928 the Harris, Emery Company sold part of the land for a new house (see #54); the remainder of the property including this house was sold in 1946 and has been in private ownership since that time.
56. House, 27 River Street, c. 1930. Noncontributing building (due to alteration).
Much added onto over the years, this gablefront, wood shingled structure features a built out vestibule with fixed windows displaying three upper lights over two vertical lights. A brick chimney punctuates the gable roof. Elsewhere, windows on the structures contain 2/1 sash. On the rear elevation the building steps down, ending in a deck.
56a. Garage, c. 1980. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Located to the west of the main house is a shed-roofed garage constructed of T111 siding with a single garage door opening on the façade and a glass and horizontal panel door on the east side.
56b. Shed, c. 1980. Noncontributing building (due to age).
A small shed is located to the rear of the property.
57. House, 21 River Street, c. 1850. Noncontributing building (due to alteration).
Much altered over the years, this 1 ½ story gablefront house is sheathed in a wide aluminum siding and rests on a brick foundation. Standing seam metal covers the roof and the simple projecting eaves end in cornice returns. A gable doorhood on plain supports shelters the modern six panel door with partial sidelights. Windows on the structure have been replaced with doublehung 1/1 vinyl replacement units. Adjacent to the main house is a carport and gablefront two car garage. A shed dormer spans the western roof slope and a single story addition is located to the rear.
The early history of this property is not clear although it was apparently owned by the mill for some time, and was among numerous properties in the village sold by the Harris, Emery Co. It has been in private ownership since 1954.
58. Manley House, 13 River Street, c. 1980. Noncontributing building (due to age).
Constructed c. 1980, this single story, vinyl-sided structure rests on a concrete foundation and is capped by an asphalt-shingled gable roof. Rectangular in plan, the building is oriented with is broad side to the street, accessed by a glass and panel door. Windows contain 1/1 sash with shutters. A deck is located at the rear.
The land on which this house stands was owned by the Harris, Emery Company until 1950 when it was sold to Maurice and Lillian Manley. The house presently on the site was apparently constructed by the Manley family.
59. House, 7 River Street, c. 1850. Noncontributing building (due to alteration).
Probably dating to the mid 19th century and now serving as apartments, this clapboarded structure consists of a 1 ½ story side gable structure with a single story wing extending to the east. The main house displays a high kneewall and is punctuated by doublehung 1/1 vinyl replacement windows with a six panel metal door on the east elevation. The front of the east wing in punctuated by two six-panel doors and a single 1/1 window. The rear of the structure has been built out to take advantage of views of the river with alterations including shed dormers and an addition on the main house. A line of granite posts is located in the shallow front yard.
Little conclusive information exists for this property. Early 20th century deed refer to this as the Former Chamberlain Place. The earliest deeds for the property indicate that it was owned by Osie Landers until 1912 and by Laura Barron. The 1869 map shows a structure roughly on the site of the present building as being owned by A.T. & O.F. Barron in that year. A 1958 deed for the property includes the mention of some old 12/12 windows suggesting a late 18th or early 19th century date of construction. It is known that a storehouse with shed beneath once stood somewhere on the north side of River Street. The possibility exists that this could be that structure.
60. Veyette House, 5 River Street. 1924. Contributing building.
An excellent example of the early 20th century Dutch Colonial style, this two story 3x 2 bay structure is clad in wide clapboards and capped by a gambrel roof sheathed in standing seam metal. Shed dormers span both the front and rear roof slopes. An interior brick chimney is located on the west end of the roof with an exterior brick chimney on the east end between the main house and the single story, flat-roofed sun porch lit by multi-pane windows. The center entrance is marked by an arched door hood supported by brackets with two curves. Paired doublehung windows with 9/1 sash and blinds flank the entrance while three individual 6/1 windows light the upper story. A large pine tree is located to the southwest of the house.
60a. Garage, 1924. Contributing building.
Located to the northeast of the house is a single car, gablefront garage clad in clapboards. Each section of the tripart door features 2 x 2 glass panes over two vertical panels.
The land upon which this early 20th century house sits was sold by Cushing and Abbott to Moses Lemay in 1878 and 1893. Lemay sold the property to John and Laura Veyette in 1905 and apparently built a house on the lot shortly thereafter. A local newspaper account indicates that the previous house burned on November 19, 1923 and the present house was probably built soon thereafter. The property remained in the Veyette family until 1968 when Veyette's daughter, Dorothy O'Niel sold it to the Quechee Lakes Corporation in 1968. It was returned to private ownership in 1976.
61. Former Methodist Church, 3 River Street, 1887. Contributing building.
Constructed in 1887 as the Methodist Church, this modest Gothic Revival structure was designed by B. D. Price of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and constructed by J.M. Quimby of White River Junction. The single story gablefront structure has a slate-shingled gable roof and is clad in clapboards with a brick lower level exposed at the rear. The gablefront is framed by projecting eaves with a modified queen post truss at the top of the eaves featuring quatrefoil cutouts. Jigsawn brackets are located at the base of the eaves. Centered on the gablefront is a tripart window with a peaked top formed by three diamond panes. A band of diagonal clapboards runs around the building at a height corresponding to the top of the rectangular windows. A later exterior brick chimney projects from the gablefront and a single story vestibule is located at the southeast corner of the building, formerly serving as the base of the steeple. Above concrete stairs with wrought iron railing, the double-doored, paneled entrance is capped by a clear transom.
On the side elevations, a simple watertable marks the base of the first floor. Windows on the side elevations consist of 2/2 windows capped by a tri-part triangular pane, forming a central diamond. On the rear elevation, overlooking the river is a three-sided bay window with peaked windows.
The cost of the building and furnishings including lot and plans was $2,317.13. The building alone cost $1,452 and was dedicated on December 15,1887. As originally constructed, a sixty food high steeple was located at the southeast corner of the building containing a 518 pound bell cast by H.H. McShane of Baltimore, Maryland. The bell was removed in 1950 and the steeple was torn down shortly thereafter. The church building was sold by the Methodist congregation to the Congregational Church in 1912, who used it for a parish hall for nearly sixty years. The building has been used as a private residence since 1978. The Beers Map indicates that an old sawmill, grist mill and cider mill were located to the east of the church site in the 19th century.
62. Bragg House, 6 River Street, c. 1830. Contributing building.
This vernacular Greek Revival style residence consists of a 1 ½ story gablefront brick structure, behind which a series of clapboarded wings terminate in a large attached, gablefront barn, forming a continuous building complex. The main house rests on a granite foundation and is capped by a roof clad in standing seam metal with two shed dormers on the west side. The sidehall entrance contains a six panel door flanked by three-quarter sidelights and a fluted surround with cornerblocks. Simple cornice returns frame the attic opening and the windows contain doublehung 6/6 sash with blinds. Extending behind are two single story wings terminating in an attached barn with a lean-to spanning its west elevation.
During the mid 19th century this house was owned by William Bragg (1812-1898), a prosperous land owner and merchant who operated a general story just east of the covered bridge. His son, Elmer, was captured by Confederate soldiers in Spotsylvania, Virginia on May 12, 1864 and died three months later in Annapolis, Maryland. The Bragg family is buried in the Quechee cemetery. In 1880 William Bragg conveyed the property including two acres of land, the brick house and sheds to his daughter, Ella Bragg Hewitt. Hewitt sold the property to Dennis Kane in 1883 whose family owned the property until 1920.
63. Mill House, 10 River Street, 1884. Contributing building.
Resting on a brick foundation, this property consists of a 1 ½ story gablefront, clapboarded house with a single story ell connecting the structure to a gablefront addition. Windows consist of 2/2 and 1/1 vinyl replacement windows, flanked by picket shutters. The sidehall entrance is capped by an entablature lintel. Simple cornerboards and a plain frieze outline the house, with cornice returns decorating the gablefront. Alterations include the addition of shed dormers on the east slopes of the asphalt-shingled gablefront structures and on the front slope of the connecting ell. A single story porch spans the connector with wrought iron supports.
63a. Garage, c. 1960. Noncontributing building (due to age).
To the west of the house is a single car garage resting on a concrete foundation with a low gablefront with projecting eaves.
Deed records indicate that this property was owned by J.C. Parker in the late 19th century and later passed onto the Harris, Emery Company along with most of the mill holdings in town. The property has been in private ownership since 1950. A 1884 newspaper article in The Landmark states that several new mill cottages were being constructed "over the river", perhaps including this structure.
64. Mill House, 12 River Street, 1884. Contributing building.
Another example of the New England traditional connected farm building form, this property consists of a 1 ½ story gablefront house with lateral ell connecting to an attached barn. The buildings are sheathed in a wide aluminum siding, rests on a brick foundation and has an asphalt-shingled roof. The sidehall entrance contains a four panel door with two upper glass panes and is capped by an entablature. A large picture window replaces the original first floor façade window openings and an exterior brick chimney is located on the west elevation. Partially obscured by a large pine tree, the ell is fronted by a single story porch. The attached barn has seen the addition of a single garage door opening on the gablefront.
This property was owned by the local mill owners until 1950 when it was sold to a private individual. Its construction apparently postdates the 1869 Beers Map and may be one of the cottages constructed by the mill in 1884.
65. Mill House, 14 River Street, 1923. Contributing building.
Nearly identical in design to its western neighbor (#66), this early 20th century gablefront structure rests on a brick foundation, is covered in aluminum siding and capped by an asphalt roof. It appears to be worker housing constructed by the local mill owners in 1923. The offset single story entrance porch is framed by corner pilaster strips with recessed panels. Above the porch entrance a bullseye is centered in the low pediment. Windows contain 6/1 sash. Extending behind is a single story, glassed-in porch.
65a. Garage, c. 1940. Contributing building.
Behind the main house is a two car, gablefront garage constructed of concrete block with clapboarded front gable. The garage is currently in poor condition.
65b. Garage, c. 1925. Contributing building.
Set broadside to the street to the east of the main house this single story garage is constructed of vertical boards with a metal, gable roof which overhangs the gablefront. The double doors feature upper glass panes over lower panels.
This property was owned by the local mill owners until 1950 when it was sold to a private individual. A local newspaper report in 1923 states that "Mr. Anais and his men are painting the new houses of the Harris, Emery Company". Stylistically, these two adjacent mill houses may very well be the buildings constructed in 1923.
66. Mill House, 16 River Street, 1923. Contributing building.
This wood-frame clapboarded residence was built according to the same plans as its neighbor, #65 and appears to have been worker housing erected by the mill. The 2 ½ story displays a broad gable front ending in cornice returns, punctuated by two bays which are not uniformly spaced. The building is sheathed in siding, rests on a brick foundation and is capped by an asphalt roof. The offset single story recessed entrance porch is enclosed with glass windows and framed by corner pilaster strips with recessed panels. Above the porch entrance a bullseye is centered in the low pediment. The front entrance contains a glass and panel door. Windows on the structure contain 6/1 sash and are flanked by shutters. A single story porch spans the rear.
66a. Garage, c. 1940. Contributing building.
Located to the west of the main house is a single story, gablefront garage constructed of concrete block with a clapboarded gable and an asphalt roof.
This property was owned by the local mill owners until 1950 when it was sold to Walter and Elizabeth Spencer. The Spencer family sold the property in 1993.
67. Yattin House, 22 River Street, c. 1870. Contributing building.
Resting on a brick foundation, this 1 ½ story clapboarded, gablefront residence is capped by a standing seam metal roof. A single story, three bay porch spans the façade, supported by simple posts. The doublehung 2/2 windows are capped by peaked lintels, as is the sidehall entrance. Extending to the east of the main house is a 1 ½ story ell fronted by a single story porch above which is a gable wall dormer. A square ventilator has been added to the roof ridge. An additional gable has been added to east and is punctuated on the first floor by a modern picture window.
67a. Barn, c. 1890. Contributing building.
To the east of the main house is this detached 1 ½ story, clapboarded barn, outlined by simple cornerboards with a plain frieze under projecting eaves. The barn displays an asphalt roof and concrete foundation. A pair of offcenter double doors access the gablefront. Other fenestration includes paired 2/1 windows and a vertical board door with a peaked lintel like those seen on the main house.
Deed records indicate that this parcel of land was sold by members of the Gilson family to Lewis Yattin in 1884 for $150. In 1890 Carrie Yattin sold the property to William G. Strong for $1000. Fred and Julia Farrington briefly owned the property from 1908 until 1910 before building their new house on Main Street (see #7). In 1884, the local newspaper, The Landmark, reported that Lewis Yattin had built a new house on Woodstock Avenue near Peter King's, selling his house on River Road to Mr. Baker (see #55). In 1885 the newspaper reported that Yattin had added a front piazza.
68. Meeting House, 11 Waterman Hill Road, 1833/1871. Contributing building.
The Meeting House is a two story brick structure which owes much of its present appearance to alterations in 1871. Measuring 3 x 5 bays, the side gable building is oriented with its principal broad façade facing Waterman Hill Road. Thin angle buttresses, each capped by two scroll brackets, separate the bays above a granite foundation. The main entrance, centered on the west façade, contains paneled double door capped by transom lights and a low peaked door hood supported by brackets. Windows on the first floor consist of paired doublehung units with an upper sash of 3x2 lights over 2x2 lower sash. Second floor windows contain pairs of 4/4 sash which are capped by low pediment lintels. A decorative panel fills the area between first and second floor windows. Projecting from the second floor of the north elevation is a clapboarded bay supported by large wooden brackets. Above the former projection booth, a semicircular window lights the attic. The gable roof is sheathed in standing seam metal with a brick chimney in the southwest corner. Rising from the center of the roof is an ornate cupola, square in plan with peaked louver panels on each side echoed in a gable above. A row of five modern transom lights punctuates the base of the cupola.
This structure was originally constructed by the First Meeting House Society of Quechee in 1833 although it took on much of its present appearance when it was converted for use as a school in 1871. Thomas W. Silloway, architect of the 1857 Vermont State House, was responsible for the façade renovations. Three classrooms on the first floor housed grades 1-12 while the second floor contained a large open space with a stage at the southern end. After the last class graduated in 1920, the first floor contained a grocery story operated by Mr. Waterman and later Mr. Holland, and the second floor auditorium was used as a village hall, a roller skating rink, and a movie theater, for which the steel lined projecting booth was added on the north end. Beginning in 1959 the building was used as an educational facility for special needs students. In 1982, derelict and abandoned, the building was purchased by its present owners who have rehabilitated the property as a private residence and home business.
69. Covered Bridge, 1933 & 1969. Noncontributing structure (due to age and alteration).
The wooden exterior of this bridge was constructed in 1969 and includes latticework sidewalls and a wood shingled roof. The asymmetrical gablefront is sheathed in vertical boards and accommodates a covered walkway on the west side adjacent to the roadway.
The first bridge to span the Ottauquechee River in this location was erected in 1769 and is believed to have been of King Post construction. The original bridge was replaced in 1803 and again in 1885. The concrete and steel deck portions of the current bridge were constructed in 1933, replacing a wooden bridge damaged in the flood of 1927. The wooden cap, intended to reflect an earlier 1885 bridge on the site, was added to the existing foundation in 1969. Renovations to the bridge were designed by Charles Hood Helmer of Woodstock, Vermont, who was retained by the Quechee Lakes Corporation. The new bridge was dedicated on May 21, 1970, by Vermont Governor Deane Davis.
70. House, 8-10 Waterman Hill Road, c. 1870. Contributing building.
Built into the side of Waterman Hill, this late 19th century, vinyl-sided structure consists of a 2 ½ story side gable structure with additional wings extending to the south. The lower level of the main house features a glass and panel door and adjacent 2/2 window sheltered by a flat roofed porch with 20th century wrought iron supports. Upstairs the façade is punctuated by four 6/6 windows with blinds with an offcenter wall gable above containing a single 6/6 window. The north gable end of the house is two bays wide, framed by projecting eaves with 2/2 windows on the first floor and 6/6 sash above. Extending to the south of the main house is a single story wing with a glass and panel door, two 6/6 windows and a recessed porch with wrought iron supports. The single story wing to the south appears to date to the 20th century and terminates with a single garage door opening.
The 1906 Sanborn Insurance map of the village indicates that this dwelling was present in that year, and featured a two story barn at the southern end (no longer extant).
71. House, 12 Waterman Hill Road, c. 1870. Contributing building.
Possibly serving as a general story at the turn of the century, this 2 ½ story structure has been rehabbed in recent years and now serves as apartments. Clad in aluminum siding, the building is capped by an asphalt-shingled roof with skylights and two interior brick chimneys. On the gable ends, projecting eaves end in returns. The façade of the building is punctuated by six variably spaced bays. The main entrance, at the south end of the façade, is marked by a gable door hood and wrought iron railing and contains a modern glass and metal door. Windows on the structure contain 2/2 doublehung sash. A wooden planter is located in the shallow front yard. At the rear of the building the terrain steps down steeply to the Ottauquechee River.
According to the 1906 Sanborn map, at the turn of the century this building was fronted by a single story porch with a two story attached barn at the south end of the building and a two story addition at the rear of the north end. It has served as a tenement for most of its history.
72. Barron House, 753 Woodstock Road, c. 1795. Contributing building.
Overlooking the Ottauquechee River, the Asa Barron House is a 2 ½ story, 5x2 bay clapboarded Georgian plan structure resting on a granite foundation. The structure is capped by a standing seam metal roof punctuated by two interior corbel cap brick chimneys. A single story porch wraps around the façade as well as the gable ends. It is supported by recessed panel posts which are battered slightly and with bases which rest on a wooden deck above a latticed airspace. The center entrance contains a four panel door flanked by full sidelights. Windows on the structure contain doublehung 6/6 sash which are flanked by blinds; those on the first floor being somewhat taller that the second story openings. The simple detailing includes plain cornerboards and projecting eaves which end in returns on the side elevations.
Extending behind the main house is a 1 ½ story ell ending in a single story modern garage with arched double doors. The ell has a standing seam metal roof with two gable wall dormers on the north slope and a single dormer on the south side. A two story gabled projecting, two bays wide, is located on the south side adjacent to the main house. There is a gabled door hood on the south side sheltering a modern door and an additional entrance containing a four panel door with upper panes of pressed glass.
During the 19th century this property was owned by Asa T. Barron, a wealthy landowner with extensive holdings in the area as well as in the White Mountains of New Hampshire where he owned three popular resort hotels and over 3,000 acres of farmland. This house became a bed and breakfast inn in 1985.
73. Page House, 17 Waterman Hill Road, c. 1850. Contributing building.
Set on a low hill near the top of Waterman Hill, this 1 ½ story gablefronted structure has seen various changes over its lifetime. The building is sheathed in vinyl siding and rests on a brick foundation. Its gable roof is covered by standing seam metal. The house is fronted by a c. 1940 enclosed porch lit by continuous strips of horizontal paned windows with a door displaying three horizontal lights over three horizontal panels. The gable above is punctuated by a 1/1 window and framed by cornice returns. Sheltered by the porch is a sidehall entrance contains a c. 1900 glass and panel door. Extending behind is a single story wing with a recessed porch on the north side and a south porch supported by two chamfered posts with an additional c. 1900 glass and panel door. Additional windows contain 2/2 sash. The rear gable displays close eaves and a single story wing on a concrete foundation is located at the rear.
73a. (Secondary) House, 17 Waterman Hill Road, c. 1940/1988. Noncontributing building (due to age and alteration).
Sharing the lot with the older house is this 1 ½ story vinyl sided, side gable structure constructed about 1940 with a single story addition built at right angles to the façade in 1988. The house sets on a concrete foundation. Fenestration includes 1/1 windows and picture windows.
73b. Garage, c. 1960. Noncontributing building (due to age).
To the east of the newer house is this three bay garage, which is clapboarded with an asphalt roof.
73c. Garage, c. 1940. Contributing building.
To the west of the main house is a single car garage sheathed in shiplap siding and resting on a concrete foundation. The gable roof is sheathed in asphalt.
STATEMENT OF SIGNIFICANCE
The Quechee Historic Mill District is significant under National Register Criteria C in the area of Architecture, as a largely intact and unified Vermont mill village. Structures in the district comprise a cross section of architectural styles from the early 19th to the early 20th century, and in general possess a high level of integrity of location, design, setting, materials, workmanship, feeling and association. The District is also significant under Criteria A, Community Planning and Development, for its associations with the development of the village center which grew in proximity to the woolen mill. Despite the range of building dates and stylistic detailing present, taken together, the structures of Quechee village form a cohesive unit, united by their history and their compact setting in the scenic valley formed by the Ottauquechee River. Building activity in the twentieth century has not negatively impacted the village. The period of significance for the district terminates at 1946, the 50-year cut-off.
What is now Quechee was first settled in the 1760's. The community takes its name from the river which runs through it, the Abenaki word for a swift mountain stream. Some of the earliest mills in the township were erected in Quechee. In 1765 the town proprietors voted to grant 600 acres of land adjacent to the falls, 300 on both the north and south sides of the river as an incentive for the establishment of a saw and a grist mill. In 1774, the town conveyed the parcel to John Marsh, provided he establish both a saw mill and a grist mill within two years. By 1778 both mills were fully operational, as was a fulling mill. The mill property and privileges changed hands numerous times over the next forty years. In 1825 John Downer and Company built a six story brick mill on the property but failed during their first year of business. The mill continued to change hands, achieving stability after 1857 when it was purchased by two men from Barre, Vermont, J.C. Parker and Denison Taft. After Taft's retirement the following year, Parker continued in business alone until 1866, when he formed a partnership with W.S. Dewey and William Lindsey. Parker continued to operate the mill until 1906.
J.C. Parker and company produced some of the country's finest white baby flannel, material which was also used to make petticoats, men's shirts and pajamas. In October of 1869 the mill was extensively damaged but it was rebuilt the following year. In 1870 the mill, one of 45 Vermont woolen mills, generated 35% of the state woolen industry's $3.5 million dollar revenue. Forty five people were employed in 1870, producing approximately 100 yards of fabric a day. A number of mill houses were erected by the company in the village to help accommodate the workers. Within the mill, water and horse power operated 26 looms, 28 card sets and an elevator. In addition to owning the local woolen mill and grist mill, J.C. Parker was a breeder of fine horses, and a wool grower. Parker constructed and resided in the brick mansion adjacent to the mill. His local holdings included 1200 acres of land, 500 sheep, and 75 to 100 head of young cattle.
In the late 19th century Quechee was an active and prosperous village, the industrial center of the town of Hartford. The 1869 Beers Map depicts the village as a community of about one hundred private dwellings clustered around the large woolen mill. At that time the village was also served by a grist and flouring mill, a sawmill, a blacksmith shop, a tannery, a shoemaker, several laundries, a millinery shop and various other small shops. The arrival of the Woodstock Railroad in the 1870s as well as the village's location on the much traveled east-west highway greatly furthered the local economy.
The mill was sold to the Harris, Emery Company in 1908 and over time the mill's output was doubled. The new owners expanded the building in 1915, adding a new drying room and sales area and expanding the weaving room. It appears that the company also constructed additional mill housing in the village. The Harris, Emery Company continued to manufacture white baby flannel until the 1920s, expanding their product line to include outing (cotton) flannel.
When the railroad ceased operation in 1933, the present Route 4 was built over approximately the same route. Harris, Emery Company closed the Quechee Mill in 1951. It was subsequently sold to William Tarbox Dewey and John Cone, Sr. in the late 1950s. Once a thriving community Quechee had lost its major industry. Its population decreased and the mill and many homes were left vacant and deteriorated. In 1964 the most easterly sections of the mill were viewed as a safety hazard and were demolished.
In 1967 the former industrial village was selected as the ideal locating for a leisure community. Land was acquired by the Quechee Lakes Corporation and many of the village's old homes were purchased and restored. New homes and condominiums were built on the surrounding hillsides and the focal points of the village found new uses. The J.C. Parker House became the office of the corporation and Marshland Farm (to the east of the district) became the company's reception center. Outside of the village, a ski area with a 2700 foot chairlift, riding stables, the Quechee Club and a 36 hole golf course were established. In total, the Quechee Lakes development covers more that 5,500 acres in and around Quechee. Covenants restrict new development to New England style houses in open land sites and houses in wooded areas painted dark natural colors. Many of the existing village buildings were acquired by the Quechee Lakes Corporation who rehabilitated them before selling them to new owners with prescribed uses dictated by an overall master plan for the village.
The former woolen mill was purchased by Simon Pearce in 1980. The building was once again used for manufacturing, this time making glass and pottery. A hydro turbine was installed, replacing water driven line shafts. Containing shops and a restaurant, The Mill continues to serve as a source of commerce, and a focus of pride for the village.
The earliest resources in the district are two substantial residences erected by early and prosperous settlers about 1800. The William Burtch House (#14) is a 2 ½ story brick structure displaying a Georgian plan. Characteristic of the style, the house displays a five bay façade with doublehung 6/6 windows which may replace an earlier sash. The Asa Barron House (#72) is a clapboarded version of the same form which was updated later with a wrap-around porch supported by paneled porch posts. A good example of vernacular Federal style architecture, the Gage House (#43) was reportedly built during the War of 1812. Typical of the Federal style influence are the semicircular recessed brick lintels above the first floor openings and the elliptical fanlight. The elliptical front porch supported by Roman Doric columns would appear to be a later Colonial Revival embellishment. The Tontine (#46) is a 2 ½ story, 5 x 2 bay woodframe structure constructed c. 1810. The building appears to have been later converted to use as a duplex and has seen the addition of a later porch. It retains two of its original 12/12 windows on the basement level.
More modest 1 ½ story Cape Cod style structures with side gables include the Jennings House (#32) constructed c. 1820 and the brick Wolcott-Lindsey House (#36) built about 1845.
Thanks to the influence of the Greek Revival style, even the most vernacular buildings in the district exhibited a new sidehall plan beginning in the 1840s, as the five bay façade gradually gave way to the gablefront. Even the simplest buildings received heavier trim and box cornice with deeper friezes and cornice returns. Other evidence of the influence of the style is visible in several doorways. The Bragg House (#62) displays a six panel door flanked by three-quarter sidelights and a fluted surround with cornerblocks. On the Brady House (#47), the characteristic sidehall entrance displays a four panel door with full sidelights, a paneled embrasure and entablature lintel. Other simple Greek Revival structures include 1 ½ story sidehall structures constructed as mill houses on High Street. The continued use and timelessness of the gablefront house with sidehall plan is evidenced in the Yatting House (#67) of about 1870, a well preserved example of the connected farm building form displaying late 19th century details including peaked lintels, chamfered porch posts and wall dormers.
The Classic Cottage, a variation on the Cape Cod form and characterized by a higher kneewall above the first floor, continued to be popular into the late 19th century. A good example of the house form, the Russ House (#17), dates to about 1878. The Chamberlain-Barron property (#59) is another, more altered example of the Classic Cottage form.
Late Victorian architectural styles which broke from the vernacular made their way to the village in the mid 19th century. The house erected for Charles Tinkham (#8) in 1859 displays the influence of the Greek Revival and Italianate styles in its cross gable plan and inset porches supported by fluted Doric columns. The first floor openings are somewhat elongated and are capped by three part paneled lintels. The Tinkham Block (#20), erected by the family about 1875 is a good example of a vernacular Italianate style commercial block. The flat roofed block displays characteristic paneled pilasters, a bracketed cornice and entablature lintels as well as original storefronts. Altered by siding, Scott Tinkham's House (#19) next door reveals yet again the Tinkham preference for Italianate bracketed blocks. The Parsonage (#9) is a 2 ½ story gablefront Italianate structure with a bracketed door hood and bay window.
Two examples of the French Second Empire style, both constructed of brick with characteristic mansard roofs are located within the district. The J.C. Parker House (#35), is an excellent and elaborate illustration of the style, erected in 1857 by the owner of the adjacent woolen mill. The mansard roof is capped by iron cresting while the cornice is embellished by a profusion of brackets. There are a variety of projections including by a windows and porches and the windows are capped by entablature lintels. A more modest version of the style, the Fogg-Sperry House (#11) is a two story structure which displays chamfered porch posts and two story bay windows.
Included within the district are three institutional structures, all of which bear the imprint of professional architects working on the eclectic modes of the late 19th century. The Quechee Community Church (#12) was designed by Boston architect, Thomas W. Silloway in 1873. The design of the wood frame Gothic Revival-Italianate style structure was originally made even more dramatic by two contrasting gablefront steeples and a portico. Silloway, who is best known for his redesign of the Vermont Statehouse exterior in 1857, also redesigned the exterior of the brick Meetinghouse (#68) for use as a school, in a bold Victorian manner in 1871. Across the street, the former Methodist Church (#61) was designed by B.D. Price of Philadelphia in 1887. The small Gothic Revival church is embellished by a variety of textures and geometric patterns including jigsawn brackets, a queen post truss with quatrefoil cutouts, diagonal clapboards and peaked window openings.
The Revival styles of the late 19th and early 20th centuries are represented within the district by several structures. The former Quechee Library (#18), constructed in 1909, is a simple brick structure which exhibits the combined influence of the Colonial Revival in its Roman Doric columns and pilasters and the influence of the Prairie School in its hip roof and decorative window sash. The Veyette House (#60) is a good example of a Colonial Revival mode popular in the early 20th century with a five bay façade capped by a gambrel roof and sheathed in wide clapboard siding with a single story sunporch to the side. The Farrington House (#7) is unique for its c. 1910 gablefront form with jerkinhead roof. Surely a showplace when it was built, the Quechee Grammar School (#16) displays the technology and styles popular in the 1920s, with its buff brick exterior and Renaissance Revival inspired decorative quoining, Corinthian pilasters, and decorative metal brackets.
The Bythrow-Cole House (#54) is interesting as an example of the mail order houses, this one ordered from Montgomery Ward, that found great popularity during the early 20th century. Later alterations and additions unfortunately render its original bungalow form almost indiscernible. Other than the addition of garages, there was little new building activity within the district during the early 20th century.
The Storehouse 6 (#23) and the Tinkham Barn (#19a) are good and relatively unaltered examples of the type of vernacular structure late 19th century storage buildings which accommodated the everyday needs of this once industrial community. A variety of mill houses were erected in the village over the years including the 1 ½ story gablefront structures on High Street (#27-29), c. 1884 houses at 10 & 12 River Street (#63 & 63) and still later 2 ½ story gablefront structures at 14 & 16 River Street (#64 & 65). The section of the mill which remains today displays little detailing other than the rhythm of the 15/15 windows and their arched lintels.
In general the Quechee Village District has seen few intrusions since 1946. Despite the loss of portions of the woolen mill, the district is still able to convey its historic context as a mill village. Since the involvement of the Quechee Lakes Corporation, most owners have realized the value of their properties and have enhanced their properties, returning them from the deterioration that threatened their continued preservation in the 1950s and 60s. The economic downturn which the village experienced during this period in many ways preserved it from inappropriate additions and intrusions. In most cases where alterations have occurred, they have been incremental in nature and do little to compromise the quality of the district. Although a number of the structures have been covered in sidings, the massing and general feeling of the village remain very much intact. The addition of decks, rear additions, windows and dormers is common at the rear of many of the buildings to take advantage of views of the river, golf course and scenery but these features are generally not visible from the traveled way. Since the 1970s a number of buildings have been converted to commercial use and in general rehabilitations have been sensitive to the original structure and streetscape.
Approximately twenty-one structures have been constructed within the district in the last fifty years. Of these nine are primary structures and twelve are sheds or garages. The most visible new structure in the district are the Quechee Library (#10), reconstructed from a c. 1970 bank in 1995, and the Emporium Building (#33) adjacent to the river. Even modern structures, including the Covered Bridge (#69) and the former Tenement (#21) reconstructed in the 1980s blend well with the older village structures.
VERBAL BOUNDARY DESCRIPTION
The district boundary is drawn to include those buildings in Quechee Village, on both sides of Quechee Main Street between River Road and Deweys Mill Road, as well as properties on School Street, High Street, Cemetery Road, River Street and Waterman Hill Road, south to Route 4.
The boundary of the district begins at the west corner of property #1 (Map 7 Lot 63 on the local assessor's map) and thence proceeds in a southeasterly direction along the backlot line of the properties along the east side of Quechee Main Street. Upon reaching the southerly boundary of property #3 (Map 12B, Lot 8), the boundary continues along Main Street to the northwestern bounds of property #4 (Map 12B/15). From this point the boundary continues along the backlot line of the buildings fronting Main Street to the southeast toward the village center. Upon reaching School Street, the line proceeds to the north to encompass the School Property (#16 - Map 12, Lot 71), the property to the east (#17), the houses on High Street and the two cemeteries (Map 12, Lot 30 & 31). From the easternmost point of the Old Cemetery (#31), the boundary continues along the north side of Deweys Mills Road and Main Street, to the intersection with Waterman Hill Road. To the west of the covered bridge (#69), the boundary continues northwestward along the backlot line of the properties on the west side of Main Street, excluding the open space adjacent to the river in the vicinity of the village Green, and continuing to the northernmost boundary of property #50 (Map 7B, Lot 10). At this point, the boundary continues along the edge of Main Street and is drawn to exclude the open space which lacks buildings. At the southern bound of property #51 (Map 12B, Lot 7) the boundary extends back to the back lot line, proceeding northwestward to River Road.
The district continues on the south side of the Ottauquechee River, to include properties on River Street, Waterman Hill Road and a single property on Woodstock Road (Route 4). On the north side of River Street the boundary encompasses the entire backlot, extending to the river. The northwest extent of this area is the corner of property #56 (Map 12, Lot 34) while the southwest corner is the corresponding bound of property #67 (Map 12, Lot 36). The nominated district continues along backlots to Waterman Hill Road including property #73 (Map 12, Lot 52) on the west side of Waterman Hill Road and properties #70-72 on the east (Map 12, Lots 51, 57 and 49).
MAJOR BIBLIOGRAPHICAL REFERENCES
" Beers, J.W. "Map of Quechee, Vermont", 1869
" Deed Records, Town of Hartford, Vermont.
" Doyle-Schechtman, Deborah. "By the Old Mill Stream: An Architectural and Historical Walking Tour of Quechee, Vermont." Quechee Chamber of Commerce, 1993.
" ______ ."Church Building on River has known many owners and uses", Quechee Times, Holiday issue, 1990
" ______. "The Church on Main Street" Quechee Times, Winter Issue 1991
" ______. "Hallowed Ground", Quechee Times, Spring Issue 1995
" ______. "The History of the Mill", Quechee Times, Holiday Issue 1991
" ______. "It May Not Be Authentic, But It's Ours", Quechee Times ,Winter Issue 1993
" ______. "The Life Story of the Quechee Landmark on Waterman Hill", Quechee Times, Spring Issue 1991
" ______. "Oh Where, Oh Where Did Quechee Come From?" Quechee Times, 1993
" ______. "The Quechee Library", Quechee Times, Summer Issue 1990
" ______. "Quechee Post Office Opens on the Green", Quechee Times Holiday Issue 1992.
" Fellows collection of photographs, Dartmouth College Archives, Hanover, New Hampshire.
" The Landmark, various issues, 1882-1928. Microfilm collection, Dartmouth College Library.
" Sanborn Insurance Map of Quechee Village, 1906. Town of Hartford.
" St. Croix, John W., Historical Highlights of the Town of Hartford, Vermont. Hartford, Vermont: Imperial Company, 1974.
" Tucker, William Howard, History of Hartford, Vermont 1761-1889.
FORM PREPARED BY:
Lisa Mausolf, Preservation Consultant for the Hartford Historic Preservation Commission
20 Terrace Park
Reading, MA 01867
DATE ENTERED: July 3, 1997
BACK TO NATIONAL REGISTER PROPERTIES